German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Lived in Germany for 3 years, loved the potatoe salads. This recipe was a little to sweet, will cut back on the sugar next time and try different vinegars. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Loved this recipe! My mom taught me a similar version when I was younger and this definitely brings back memories. :o) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I did everything exactly to the recipe- EXCEPT I added 1/3 cup vinegar. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. It is great the day you make it but, according to my husband, even better the next day. I made the recipe with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This potato salad is my new favorite and was a big hit with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My husband loves German Potato Salad. He grew up with his family making it. This recipe is fantastic! It turns out perfectly even when you double or triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Wow - way too much sugar, was actually sweet! Not what I was looking for, sorry. On a quest for a salad similar to one I had in Munchen and this was nowhere close. Wish I could say otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a good, but American-style German potato salad. The kind my German grandmother used to make also had caraway seeds and some powdered mustard. There were ALWAYS caraway or celery seeds in hers. There are other optional delights which can be included that wouldn't offend my grandma's sense of propriety one bit. After frying the bacon (not quite crisp), adding onions (maybe some chopped celery), cook till onion is yellow, then throw in celery seeds and/or caraway seeds, simmer till fragrant. A roux is made by adding cornstarch or flour to the mixture, using the bacon drippings for fat (adding butter if needed). When the flour bubbles, add the mixture of vinegar, sugar, S&P, maybe some garlic and/or dry horseradish. These are pre-mixed, then added to the roux - cook till it thickens. (You can add water or chicken broth to increase the quantity.) The best recipes are those which have a GENEROUS amount of sauce - and BACON! I pre-mince my bacon before frying because it isn't always cooperative when I try to crumble it. It should not have mushy spuds, but they MUST be very thoroughly cooked. So I cook them in the skin - usually in a steamer, but boiling works. Red potatoes are the VERY traditional standard, but I've found ordinary spuds will work, especially thoroughly cooked in their skins. I can't always get the red ones. They're preferred because of the slightly "waxy" texture, but plain skin-steamed potatoes will be somewhat that way. When cooled, I strip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
love this recipe. My kids loved it too and my daughter cooked it up the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Amazing! Soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States