German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This potato salad is my new favorite and was a big hit with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My husband loves German Potato Salad. He grew up with his family making it. This recipe is fantastic! It turns out perfectly even when you double or triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Wow - way too much sugar, was actually sweet! Not what I was looking for, sorry. On a quest for a salad similar to one I had in Munchen and this was nowhere close. Wish I could say otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a good, but American-style German potato salad. The kind my German grandmother used to make also had caraway seeds and some powdered mustard. There were ALWAYS caraway or celery seeds in hers. There are other optional delights which can be included that wouldn't offend my grandma's sense of propriety one bit. After frying the bacon (not quite crisp), adding onions (maybe some chopped celery), cook till onion is yellow, then throw in celery seeds and/or caraway seeds, simmer till fragrant. A roux is made by adding cornstarch or flour to the mixture, using the bacon drippings for fat (adding butter if needed). When the flour bubbles, add the mixture of vinegar, sugar, S&P, maybe some garlic and/or dry horseradish. These are pre-mixed, then added to the roux - cook till it thickens. (You can add water or chicken broth to increase the quantity.) The best recipes are those which have a GENEROUS amount of sauce - and BACON! I pre-mince my bacon before frying because it isn't always cooperative when I try to crumble it. It should not have mushy spuds, but they MUST be very thoroughly cooked. So I cook them in the skin - usually in a steamer, but boiling works. Red potatoes are the VERY traditional standard, but I've found ordinary spuds will work, especially thoroughly cooked in their skins. I can't always get the red ones. They're preferred because of the slightly "waxy" texture, but plain skin-steamed potatoes will be somewhat that way. When cooled, I strip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
love this recipe. My kids loved it too and my daughter cooked it up the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Amazing! Soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Totally amazing warm German potato salad just like they serve in the German restaurants around the Rocket City. Even Von Braun would not pass up this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I've made this twice, & it's 'goof proof'..I even e-mailed it to my Daughter.. It's a great 'comfort' food in the Winter. Didn't change anything to the recipe, goes with any 'main course'..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is the best potato salad recipe I've ever made and it always gets rave reviews. Whenever we're invited to a party I'm asked to bring this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHanley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This side dish was amazing. I did everything exactly how it's written only I added a bit more bacon. I would make this again in my home and highly recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Draz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States