German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I make this recipe using equal proportions of the water, vinegar, and sugar - 1/2 cup each per 4 potatoes - and it tastes exactly like the German Potato Salad my mother makes (the same recipe that her German mother made). I like this hot or cold, but be sure to add the dressing to warm potatoes so the flavor is distributed evenly throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found for german potato salad. I rarely make it just for 4 servings though. I usually make double it and freeze half for another day. Also, you can use this recipe to make a large warmer full for weddings, graduations, etc. I've made it twice with a 20lb bag of potatoes. It's a little time consuming but very easy to put together. Note: Don't understand why, but it tastes so much better if you immediately put this in the refrigerator for use the next day. When I do this and use my crock pot to warm it up before serving folks rave over it. Just not the same when I make it and serve the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Newby
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
i followed this recipe to a T and was a bit disappointed. there wasn't enough sauce to completely coat the potatoes, and the salad ended up too dry. Next time I'll increase the recipe so there is more sauce. the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I have never had German Potato Salad before so I'm not sure what it's supposed to taste like but this was pretty good. If I were to make it again I think I would use much less sugar and more vinegar. the only thing I didn't like was the sweetness of it but maybe it's supposed to be like that...anyway, Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I love this recipe!! My husband is from Germany and loves it. ***TIP*** I added diced pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayshay27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Now, understand that I don't know what real German potato salad is supposed to taste like, but this was really, really good! One of my guests is not a fan of German potato salad, but she had a second helping...a large one, and raved about it. I served it with roasted chicken and broccoli. Next week I will serve it with grilled pork chops and make it with cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is really good!! I serve it with grilled brats and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I DID NOT LIKE IT AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
THIS WAS THE THE GERMAN POTATO SALAD I HAVE EVER HAD. NEXT TIME I WILL ALL A BIT MORE WHITE VINEGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States