German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was very good, fairly quick and very easy to make. I agree to increase the sauce. The only part I wouldn't increase is the sugar. A little too sweet... I made the four potatoes as called for in the recipe for four servings but then made the sauce for 6 servings.. increased the bacon to 6 servings as well. Thanks for the recipe. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This potato salad is excellent! I wasn't sure I would like it since I prefer mayo based potato salad but this is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
For 2 people, 2 large Russet potatoes was plenty which we cooked for about over 20 mins. The white wine vinegar is much milder in taste than white vinegar and worked with this warm salad nicely. The bacon adds a nice crisp texture to the salad. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe...highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So good! I go a little over on the vinegar and bacon grease....I just think they work very well together, and more is better in this case. I use rice wine vinegar, which is sweet, and as a result don't use much sugar. If you're new to this dish, this recipe is very, very tasty as written and you will be safe. My changes are from decades of various tastings. This recipe is beautiful as written. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I liked it alot. I did overcook the potatoes though and will not make that same mistake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Farmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We had smoked some Barbeque ribs and made this to go with it. OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! It was a huge hit and there was nothing left in the bowl after dinner. I will definitely make this again, I plan to slice some Kielbasa in with it. This is an easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Collinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was a really good dish. I had it saved for so long and was hesitant but kept reminding myself that I love vinegar on fries. It was tangy and sweet - didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My wife and I made this for a office gathering and everyone loved it. This is in my Recipe Box to stay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
great and easy!!! it's easy to change it to your taste liking and its a favorite that everyone loves!! * I let it sit the second time I made it for about and hour or two and it taste amazing!! great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundazze7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States