German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Wow. I never review recipes but I had to add my 2 cents here. This recipe is *fantastic* I used red potatoes and before I made the dressing, I tossed a handful of diced Vidalia sweet onion in the hot fat for a few minutes (bc I didn't have green onions). I pulled them out with a slotted spoon and did the rest as listed. I only needed half of the dressing (for about 6 small red potatoes), so I saved the rest and am making more for lunch today bc my boyfriend and I loved it so much! This is a permanent addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I spent two years in Germany during my first enlistment in the army. I have tried many versions of "German" potato salad. I like this one, but of course, made it my own. I added some boiled eggs, dill pickles and a dash of the pickle juice. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF CLAY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Linville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good German Potato Salad - will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this potato salad. It is more of a side dish than a salad, but it was very good. The only complaint was that there was a little too much liquid. Definately making this again. It makes excellent leftovers. My kids were arguing over who got them. They are all under 8yrs old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Easy to follow recipe (although I let the potatoes boil a bit longer). I doubled the recipe for a church event and it was very well liked by those in attendance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This potato salad is very good. It is very similar to one that I used to get in a German restaurant. The first time I made it I followed the instructions and boiled the potatoes for just over 15 minutes. They were very undercooked; they were still crunchy, not just firm, crunchy. The next time I made it, I boiled them for a little over 25 minutes. This way they came out nice and firm but were at least cooked. Most recently I served this with Sausage 'n Kraut, also from this site for an all around German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! As close to Oma's as I'm ever going to get. My only variation on this one is that instead of using green onions, I used a sweet onion, chopped it finely, and sauteed it in the bacon fat before adding the ingredients to make the sauce. The only thing left was to lick the bowl once the salad had been ravaged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! German potato salad is supposed to be served WARM...if you are looking for a cold salad this is not it. Being warm is what makes it German potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Been making this for years but I do cube my potatoes before boiling them. While they boil I cook the dressing because I find it more tasteful to add warm dressing to hot potatoes. As another viewer said - add more liquid, potatoes will absorb the liquid and this salad has no mayonnaise so does not have to keep cold on picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I made the recipe for 9 peole then doubled the vinegar water and halved the sugar. Turned out great Made it for 9 people and it disappeared. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States