German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
OMG, these are just like my Polish mother made when I was a little girl. The story is that my great uncle Louis ate 18 of them at one sitting. I believe it. These are delicious. Made them per the recipe, but didn't really measure anything. Used peanut oil to fry them - marvelous!! Ate them with cottage cheese or sour cream. These are like a cross between hashbrown potatoes and latkas. So much flavor when beautifully browned. I questioned your timing - but used a timer and found 3 minutes on each side was really good, but turned the heat up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
delicious! i remember these from my childhood in Germany and had been looking for a good recipe to make these for a while... this fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent...used grated onion though. For a delicious sauce to serve on the side, mix equal parts of plain Greek yogurt and apple butter or cinnamon apple sauce......YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
a very good side dish... a different change of pace... my mom and grandma actually make these by throwing all the ingredients in a blender, blending and then adding diced potatoes and liquefying them... then pouring the batter into a skillet making small pancakes.. some people may not like doing it like that because they tend to be mushier.. but they do taste excellent.. and very unique... but making them as this recipe states turned out good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good !! Will make often !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Fimbres Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
delicious. best potato pancake i have tasted. Better than ones at any church bizzare and restaurants. Kids and adults loved them. I squeezed out excess moisture from the potatoes with a towel. They make a great side for dinner, i would not personally make them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Amazing! Followed the recipe exactly and served with sour cream. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
GREAT! We loved these. Followed the recepie completely except left them in the pan longer to brown- glad I did to make sure they cooked through too. Excellent side with Breakfast Burrito's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These were easy to make and very tasty. I used metal rings to make mine perfectly round, and they looked really nice. I omitted the onion just because I was lazy, and I fried them in olive oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
these were delicious! I had to add more oil while frying (made 12+ pancakes), but other than that, recipe was spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States