German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent! We had them with Tzatziki sauce and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
A fairly tasty and simple recipe! I used a little less oil than called for, but otherwise made recipe exactly as written. Topped pancakes with sour cream, scallions, and apple sauce. If I were to make this recipe again (which I probably will), I think I would try using scallions in the batter, instead of raw onion, and would also try adding some additional spices. I also liked that this recipe is easy on the food budget. Ingredients are inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent! And simple! Replace vegetable oil with coconut oil -- so yummy and a little bit healthier! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made these for Hanuka this year and served them with sausages and apple sauce. They were a big hit. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were so great I'm ashamed to say how many I ate once I'd cooked them. I threw the onion in the food processor instead of chopping it, I didn't see the point in shredding the potatoes and not the onion and I wanted to save some time. I did add maybe 2t of salt instead of 1/2t at least, for 6 medium potatoes (I used about 12 small ones as it was all I had) it really wasn't enough salt for my taste. I also added closer to 3/4t of pepper and if I'd remembered I would have put in a little chipotle powder for a kick. I did one pancake as a tester first for the seasoning, then added more to the rest if I thought it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! Perfect recipe exactly the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
needs more flavor. I topped them with applesauce. would use more onion and garlic next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is my go to recipe for potato pancakes. Our kids love them! My wife especially loves them ( because I am the one doing the cooking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grillmastergary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used someones advice and put it in a blender - OMG these were AMAZING..... they were all gone and my kids asked me to make them again the next day. So good and the blender made it incredibly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
these are true potatoe pancakes they are great even my grand children love them they are great for any time breakfast lunch or dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States