German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
One thing the recipe is missing that was in the video for this recipe is that you are supposed to put the potatoes in a dish towel and squeeze out as much moisture as you can before mixing in with the egg mixture. This will probably help out with those who couldn't get the cakes to hold together. Not sure if it will help with the greying or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
A welcome change from mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Tried this for the first time and prepared half of the mixture as recipe stated. The other half I diced about 1/2 cup of Recipe Beginnings 3 pepper and onion blend (frozen mixture of sliced onions, red, yellow and green peppers). Also added 1/2 teaspoon parsley and a few dried red pepper flakes. Frozen blend makes the mixture a little moist so I added another tablespoon of flour. We liked both original recipe and pepper blend, but our favorite was the pepper blend. Will make this again. Great with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent! We had them with Tzatziki sauce and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
A fairly tasty and simple recipe! I used a little less oil than called for, but otherwise made recipe exactly as written. Topped pancakes with sour cream, scallions, and apple sauce. If I were to make this recipe again (which I probably will), I think I would try using scallions in the batter, instead of raw onion, and would also try adding some additional spices. I also liked that this recipe is easy on the food budget. Ingredients are inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent! And simple! Replace vegetable oil with coconut oil -- so yummy and a little bit healthier! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made these for Hanuka this year and served them with sausages and apple sauce. They were a big hit. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were so great I'm ashamed to say how many I ate once I'd cooked them. I threw the onion in the food processor instead of chopping it, I didn't see the point in shredding the potatoes and not the onion and I wanted to save some time. I did add maybe 2t of salt instead of 1/2t at least, for 6 medium potatoes (I used about 12 small ones as it was all I had) it really wasn't enough salt for my taste. I also added closer to 3/4t of pepper and if I'd remembered I would have put in a little chipotle powder for a kick. I did one pancake as a tester first for the seasoning, then added more to the rest if I thought it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! Perfect recipe exactly the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
needs more flavor. I topped them with applesauce. would use more onion and garlic next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States