German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These were ok- very plain and bland. Not worth the work in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
What a pain to make! I even partially precooked my potatoes in the micro, chilled and grated (no off color potatoes). Followed the recipe exactly. Would not stick together at all. Ended up just like hash browns. No little pancackes, so I just dumped the rest of the bowl directly into the skillet and finished it that way. I will either buy frozen hash browns or make them from partially precooked potatoes. Just a note though, partially cooked potatoes do grate up nicely in a FP and never oxidize, no drying in a spinner or tea towel. No rinsing either. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just like my moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a perfect recipe and I can neither add nor comment anything to improve it. I served with sour cream and chives on the side. javascript:void(0);
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
amazing!! my whole family devoured these! i also soaked my potatoes in cold water once grated. absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Old-fashioned potato pancakes, just the way you remember them! Grate potatoes into egg mixture to prevent darkening. Minced green onions might be a colourful change especially for St. Paddy's Day next March.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Yum Yum, these were delicious! I did squeeze the water out from the potatoes after shredding and added in some garlic powder and a little sweet paprika. Otherwise followed the recipe and they came out nice and crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. The texture was a little more between a potato pancake and a hash brown. The "batter" help up really well and was very easy to put spoonfuls in the skillet and flatten down. Served with some ketchup on top. Would also be good with a little sour cream. Thanks for this recipe! These make great goodies for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Want an EZ way to dry out grated potatoes after rinsing them? Simply rinse them in the basket of your salad spinner, then spin them dry! Hashbrowns, potato cakes, and potato pancakes have never been so easy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Yum! My first patty broke in half so I said the heck with it and just made these like hash browns, breaking it up as it cooked. My husband, a real hash brown aficionado,claimed these the Blue Ribbon Winner. Oh, I added bacon bits to it and it really sent it over the top. Thx~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Just made these - yum. Substituted Egg Beaters for the egg, added a little garlic powder and used the food processor to deal with the potatoes. Drained the potatoes on paper towels (two sets of towels) and cooked in a ceramic pan with olive oil spray. They were on the table in 20 minutes (note - only used two potatoes and adjusted recipe accordingly as there are only two of us). Served with apple sauce. Will be making these again (my German partner said they tasted like the ones his Grandmother made). Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States