German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is an awesome recipe! My Father-in-Law is from Austria, so my husband grew up eating potato pancakes every Christmas morning. This recipe is easy and sooooo good, impresses my husband every time! I do have a little trick that cuts down on the moisture from the potatoes - if you peel and boil the whole potatoes the night before (boil for only a few minutes). Then, cover and refrigerate the potatoes until morning. This will make shredding so much easier on the arms if you are doing it manually and it also cuts down on the moisture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Wonderful recipe! My husband ate so many he didn't even care about the rest of the meal. I did add about 1 more tablespoon of flour because I didn't dry off the potato shavings nearly enough. But it was so quick, easy, and yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is one of the easiest receipes I have found yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This was a wonderful and easy potato recipe! I served it with a boneless sirloin and a veggie, and it was a great change from mashed potatoes! One thing I think is you could use only one egg, b/c after making them they are a little "wet". These reheat in a toaster oven VERY well! And I didn't think they needed any sauce or sour cream, they're good just like they are. And you could easily personalize them by adding your favorite seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I thought these were great, they tasted just as I imagined they would. I served them with applesauce and with maple syrup and ate them as the main meal. I followed the recipe as given and I would not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It is definitely a "keeper". My hubby's German Grandmother used to make these for him, and he said these reminded him of hers! Mine were also a little "wet", but I'll try to strain the potatoes a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe is awesome! I didn't dry out the potatoes enough, but they still turned out great. It is a simple recipe that has ingredients that are already found in your kitchen. I have to cook these more often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
"If anyone knows about Waffle House potato pancakes, you would have thought Wendy was the creator of this fantastic recipe. 6 stars for Wendy L. You go girl!!" F. Johnson - STL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
My mom used to make these, and I think she was getting just a litle tired of me asking how to make them. But thanks to this incredible recipe that taste just like MOM's, I won't have to trouble her anymore!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These were wonderful. I used about 1/4 cup of fried onion bits instead of fresh onion and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States