German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Old-fashioned potato pancakes, just the way you remember them! Grate potatoes into egg mixture to prevent darkening. Minced green onions might be a colourful change especially for St. Paddy's Day next March.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Yum Yum, these were delicious! I did squeeze the water out from the potatoes after shredding and added in some garlic powder and a little sweet paprika. Otherwise followed the recipe and they came out nice and crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. The texture was a little more between a potato pancake and a hash brown. The "batter" help up really well and was very easy to put spoonfuls in the skillet and flatten down. Served with some ketchup on top. Would also be good with a little sour cream. Thanks for this recipe! These make great goodies for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Want an EZ way to dry out grated potatoes after rinsing them? Simply rinse them in the basket of your salad spinner, then spin them dry! Hashbrowns, potato cakes, and potato pancakes have never been so easy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Yum! My first patty broke in half so I said the heck with it and just made these like hash browns, breaking it up as it cooked. My husband, a real hash brown aficionado,claimed these the Blue Ribbon Winner. Oh, I added bacon bits to it and it really sent it over the top. Thx~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Just made these - yum. Substituted Egg Beaters for the egg, added a little garlic powder and used the food processor to deal with the potatoes. Drained the potatoes on paper towels (two sets of towels) and cooked in a ceramic pan with olive oil spray. They were on the table in 20 minutes (note - only used two potatoes and adjusted recipe accordingly as there are only two of us). Served with apple sauce. Will be making these again (my German partner said they tasted like the ones his Grandmother made). Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dherting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I did not expect this to work! Somehow the pancakes magically stick together in the oil. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A nice dish, nothing earth shattering, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was very easy. I used onion, and garlic powder to speed things up. I would totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
One thing the recipe is missing that was in the video for this recipe is that you are supposed to put the potatoes in a dish towel and squeeze out as much moisture as you can before mixing in with the egg mixture. This will probably help out with those who couldn't get the cakes to hold together. Not sure if it will help with the greying or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
A welcome change from mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States