German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent! I used Trader Joe's Shredded Hash Browns 20 oz bag. It only contains shredded potatoes. (or Simply Potatoes). It was 3 firmly packed cups of shredded potatoes. I added 2 1/2 Tbsp of flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Really, not much diff than the recipe. I did not ring out the potatoes, but in retrospect, I could have dried them just a bit. It makes NO difference if the potatoes turn brown, you are going to cook them!(another cook said this). I fried them in a small amount of oil and butter bc the oil keeps the butter from burning and the butter keeps the oil from smoking. The first ones I fried I fried on too high a heat and the insides were not cooked enough. They might be better baked. Either way...great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My first attempt at potato pancakes. Everyone loved them! Excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent! Make sure to add oil per batch so they crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Yes there was some oxidation on the potatoes. Didn't change the taste at all. I added some spices to taste. This is the type of potato pancake I was looking for, instead of so many that are just batter. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
In Latvia we are making these pancakes pretty often. They taste excellent. Only we add some garlic too. It gives a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliiFree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great comfort food in an easy recipe . They taste of Grandma's kitchen from 40 years ago & Grandma Jo was the best cook I have ever known. Delicious Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe has been in our family for years! My German grossmutter (grandma) passed this down to my mom and then me. I am making this for Christmas day dinner to accompany my ham. My family of 6 likes a lot of potato pancakes so I make a huge bowl. I also add about 1/2c of farina for added fiber to the batter. If you like a crisper pancake, squeeze the potatoes to get rid of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
It was fantastic! Just like my mom's of years ago. 5 *****'s Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent pancakes. I don't use the baking powder and squeeze my shredded potatoes in a cheesecloth to remove excess water, depending on how much moisture the potatoes have. Serve with fresh applesauce - YUMMMM! Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Even my fussy 17 year old son love these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States