German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nic Vanfleet
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I am German and Irish, so I LOVE potatoes and potato pancakes. We missed Oktoberfest this year, so I didn't get my annual fix. I decided to make these. The mix looked perfect! I used fresh homegrown potatoes and fresh homegrown onions for the recipe. I measured everything perfectly, and these turned out TERRIBLE. Aside from cooking up correctly, the middle of the pancakes seemed to taste odd and tasted pretty bad! Sorry Guy! Not the recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic Vanfleet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I also soaked the potatoes first in ice water with lemon. They fried up nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Sergent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Love them! These are wonderful. My family gobbled them up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
We halved the recipe. I thought they were ok. They were a bit bland. I was hoping for a bit more flavor. My husband didn't care for them and gave them a 2. My kids didn't care for them either. I ate them plain, and perhaps a dab of sour cream would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonball
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It's a hit with family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and they were great!!I love this version of pancakes :D Potatoes are my favorite vegetables. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Great as is. Rinsed in water and strained to avoid oxidation, no problems at all. Best to use a countertop griddle and cook them on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I love this. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Cooked these up tonight to try something new and scrape together a dinner with limited pantry ingredients. I should say I've never cooked, or eaten, anything like this before and I found the whole process really messy and time-consuming. But that could be my inexperience and the fact that all I had was a cheese grater to shred the potatoes. Took forever and it made way more than I was expecting, but the results far surpassed my expectations. I followed the recipe exactly but for adding minced garlic and chives to the batter and the little pancakes fried up great and were tasty enough to be good on their own. Served with steamed vegetables and cottage cheese they made a great meal in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made it exactly as the recipe is written with the addition of 1 tbsp of minced garlic. It was perfect, crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked potato on the inside. My husband loved them we had them for breakfast and he wants them for dinner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snob17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States