German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very simple and time consumer friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I watched the video first. Made it as directed and it was great! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent! I used Trader Joe's Shredded Hash Browns 20 oz bag. It only contains shredded potatoes. (or Simply Potatoes). It was 3 firmly packed cups of shredded potatoes. I added 2 1/2 Tbsp of flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Really, not much diff than the recipe. I did not ring out the potatoes, but in retrospect, I could have dried them just a bit. It makes NO difference if the potatoes turn brown, you are going to cook them!(another cook said this). I fried them in a small amount of oil and butter bc the oil keeps the butter from burning and the butter keeps the oil from smoking. The first ones I fried I fried on too high a heat and the insides were not cooked enough. They might be better baked. Either way...great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My first attempt at potato pancakes. Everyone loved them! Excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent! Make sure to add oil per batch so they crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Yes there was some oxidation on the potatoes. Didn't change the taste at all. I added some spices to taste. This is the type of potato pancake I was looking for, instead of so many that are just batter. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
In Latvia we are making these pancakes pretty often. They taste excellent. Only we add some garlic too. It gives a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliiFree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great comfort food in an easy recipe . They taste of Grandma's kitchen from 40 years ago & Grandma Jo was the best cook I have ever known. Delicious Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe has been in our family for years! My German grossmutter (grandma) passed this down to my mom and then me. I am making this for Christmas day dinner to accompany my ham. My family of 6 likes a lot of potato pancakes so I make a huge bowl. I also add about 1/2c of farina for added fiber to the batter. If you like a crisper pancake, squeeze the potatoes to get rid of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
It was fantastic! Just like my mom's of years ago. 5 *****'s Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States