German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This is the true Potato Pancake (not Latke). We usually serve them on a Friday night (especially during Lent) with potato soup, bread and butter, the pancake topped with the traditional granulated sugar with applesauce on the side. We are a German/Polish family. Leftovers were taken in sandwiches with butter, salt and pepper for lunch. Don't fret about the discoloration...it is a part of the pancake and never noticed after fried up. When 5 pounds of potatoes are grated by hand for a large family, the discoloration is not a problem.Don't spend a lot of time and trouble drying out the potatoes, just drain in a colander and the flour takes care of the rest. If a little drains from the pancake in the fry pan, it will just add a nice crispiness to the edge. ENJOY. Our family has for over 100 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
These were great!!! I solved the oxidation problem by shredding the potatoes one at a time in my food processor and emptying it into a bowl of cold water after each potato. I had read that when making homemade french fries to put them in cold, even ice water and then dry them before frying. I then took a handful at a time and squeezed them in the collander and added them to the egg mixture. This worked great. There was no change in color, or if there was it was limited. Once dinner was over I quickly put the leftovers in plastic baggies and put them in the freezer, hopefully this will keep them from oxidizing. Thanks so much for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These are a delicious sidedish for dinner or breakfast. For those who are complaining about their potatoes being a greenish-gray color, there is a simple solution. The easiest thing to do is as you scrape them imediately put them in cold water so they aren't exposed to the air. They'll stay a beautiful white. Just be sure to drain them really good before frying. A plus side to soaking them first is that they are much crisper when you fry them up. Not only do they look better but they taste better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scape

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is an awesome recipe! My Father-in-Law is from Austria, so my husband grew up eating potato pancakes every Christmas morning. This recipe is easy and sooooo good, impresses my husband every time! I do have a little trick that cuts down on the moisture from the potatoes - if you peel and boil the whole potatoes the night before (boil for only a few minutes). Then, cover and refrigerate the potatoes until morning. This will make shredding so much easier on the arms if you are doing it manually and it also cuts down on the moisture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I used my blender to grate the potatoes in 1/2 c. of milk. This will keep the potatoes from turning dark or black. Then add extra flour to thicken. Mine turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
A true Irish lass, I love potatoes. I am always looking for new ways to cook them. I've only had potato pancakes once before from a deli; they definitely didn't compare to this recipe. I made them as-written, and ate them with sour cream and homemade applesauce. Two descriptions came to mind: delightful, and finger-lickin' good! I will definitely make these again, and soon. This recipe is great for breakfast. For a dinner side, I'd try adding a little garlic powder and parsley. Awesome, Wendy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Made as is. No problem with oxidation because we soaked them in water and then pressed the water out. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I squeezed out extra water from shredded potatoes by using a cheesecloth. Also doubled flour and salt plus added 1/4 C finely chopped fresh parsley. Be sure not to let the potato mixture sit too long or more water will be drawn out from the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
My mother had made potato pancakes like these when I was little. I made them for my fiance and he said they were the best he had ever tasted; better than any restaurant and even better than his grandmothers! Wow, what a compliment. The only alteration I made was I doubled the flour and the salt. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were really tasty. I served them with rouladen and just topped them with a touch of seasoned salt. I used my cheese grater to shred the potatoes. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States