German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Truly delicious dish! Thanks for posting this. Made it as called for. Turned out FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I followed TDZANKL's advice and peeled and boiled the potatoes for a few minutes the night before. Other than adding more flour and salt, I followed this recipe and they came out beautifully. I found it yielded quite a few more latkes than the recipe states, but they all got eaten regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I changed a little bit. I used red potatoes (that's what I had on hand). I added garlic powder and used extra onion, extra salt & pepper, and about a tablespoon of extra flour. That having been said, AWESOME!!!! Soooo yummy. :) My hubby loved them even more than me. I did use paper towels to absorb some of the water from the potatoes before adding to the recipe. I let the batter sit for awhile before I cooked it, which meant there was more water that drained out of the potatoes. I just poured it out, but when I make them again, I'll just plan to make the batter right before I am ready to fry them. Also, I cooked them WAY more than 3 minutes a side, but I like things VERY crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
OMG, these are just like my Polish mother made when I was a little girl. The story is that my great uncle Louis ate 18 of them at one sitting. I believe it. These are delicious. Made them per the recipe, but didn't really measure anything. Used peanut oil to fry them - marvelous!! Ate them with cottage cheese or sour cream. These are like a cross between hashbrown potatoes and latkas. So much flavor when beautifully browned. I questioned your timing - but used a timer and found 3 minutes on each side was really good, but turned the heat up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
delicious! i remember these from my childhood in Germany and had been looking for a good recipe to make these for a while... this fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent...used grated onion though. For a delicious sauce to serve on the side, mix equal parts of plain Greek yogurt and apple butter or cinnamon apple sauce......YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
a very good side dish... a different change of pace... my mom and grandma actually make these by throwing all the ingredients in a blender, blending and then adding diced potatoes and liquefying them... then pouring the batter into a skillet making small pancakes.. some people may not like doing it like that because they tend to be mushier.. but they do taste excellent.. and very unique... but making them as this recipe states turned out good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good !! Will make often !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
delicious. best potato pancake i have tasted. Better than ones at any church bizzare and restaurants. Kids and adults loved them. I squeezed out excess moisture from the potatoes with a towel. They make a great side for dinner, i would not personally make them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Amazing! Followed the recipe exactly and served with sour cream. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States