German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
the taste of these are awesome! I dont think I let my potatoes dry enough becuase they werent as crispy as i wanted but I would definitely make this again and reccomend to a friend...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very good just needed a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Thanks for your tips on the ice bath after shredding, this made a big difference. These are delish and went great with our fried bluegils and crappies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these last night and they were delicious. Everytime I have tried to make potato pancakes they turn out like hash browns. My mother in law, who is deceased now, was German and made the best. I changed a few things...I used only 4 potatoes, 1/3 cup of onion and more flour. I took the advice and shredded my potatoes and put them in ice water until I was ready to fry them. I made 4 pancakes and fried them in oleo about 10-15 minutes on each side so that the potatoes were done. Finally had a great recipe and my husband loved them. I also made homemade applesauce and baked pork chops to go along with them. Tks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Oh so delicious. I Ate over half of them as I was making them and had to make a second batch for dinner! Sprinkle with a little kosher salt for an elegant flavor and serving with apple sauce is a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Never had a potato pancake before but I was a huge fan! If it weren't for the amount of oil needed, I would make these every time I needed a potato side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were fabulous and easy! This was my first time making potato pancakes, as I always thought they'd be more time-consuming. Well, they were time-consuming, but they were easy and delicious! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The overall combo of flavor is good but no matter how I try to make these they always end up very soggy and very oily. I have redused the amont of oil to almost nothing but the potatos still suck up the oil and hold on to it for dear life - I have also tried butter which worked out pretty well but you have to keep it on a lower heat so not to burn the butter in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mosley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My family is German/American Indian and I grew up eating potato pancakes - and they were always made with mashed potatoes so instead of shredding them I mashed them and they turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole J Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paulding, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I had a couple of bags of shredded potato that I needed to use and came across this recipe. My husband really liked them with some eggs for breakfast. Good and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States