German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLL6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I prepared this in small batches to keep the potatos from turning brown before cooking. Wonderful taste but time consumming if you are like me and don't own a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe to start with. I actually just make them with thawed out shredded hashbrowns, and they are delicious! No need to worry about the potatoes discoloring, either. I've gotten to the point that I make these without measuring, but the original recipe is great. You can actually just leave out the baking powder if you don't happen to have some - works great to just use a little more flour with the hashbrowns. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I love them! I used green onions instead of regular onions but it tasted the same to me. I also did not use all of the salt but still great. I have made them a couple of times already and plan on making them again. My three year old and I put applesauce over them and that was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teddybearplus2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Oh I love these…..We call them Kartoffel puffer. ( potatoe puffers) and we usually eat apple sauce with them. A great combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia
Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Skipped the onion and used onion powder as I was short on time- Not something I'd do next time, but they were still really good, just like I remember my mom and grandmother making when I was younger. Will be a regular for weekend breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
It took a few tries with this recipe to make it come out the way I wanted it to. I only eyeballed my ingredients, and so I needed to sprinkle some "nature's seasoning" on the pancakes while they fried. I also had to add a LOT more flour so that they would be crispy. Other than that, this recipe is excellent for a base; taste test as you cook works best with this one. Side-note; although my potatoes did discolor, as soon as they hit the hot oil they changed back to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by future_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were just wonderful. It may not be in keeping with the recipe, but I sprinkled each with some garlic salt while they were cooking - delicious! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My family really likes these but next time I will dry the shredded potato before mixing it in because there was a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States