German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pistol
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My husband and I both thought this was very tasty. Since I was only making enough for two I shredded up two large potatoes, and came out with about 9 pancakes. I just cut the amount of ingredients back. I also added just a tiny bit of pure horseradish. I mixed sour cream and sriracha as a dipping sauce. Will for sure be making again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Real german potato pancakes are mashed potatos.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
These were great! They didn't discolor at all - not sure if people are waiting too long to use the potatoes or if using a food processor makes it more likely. I just used a grater. It didn't take much time. I prepped everything else first, then grated the potatoes and put them in a thin, clean dish towel to squeeze the extra liquid out (see video). The only change I would make is to divide the oil so each batch gets to cook in oil. Otherwise, brilliant recipe! I did sprinkle a tiny bit of salt on each pancake once I put them on the paper towels. One more thing... I didn't have any eggs and didn't realize that until I'd committed to the recipe. I used 2 Tablespoons water, 1 teaspoon veg oil and 2 teaspoons baking powder in place of the 1 egg (I halved the recipe). It worked well - not that I would recommend doing this, but if you too didn't realize you have no egges, it does work. I omitted the 1/4 teaspoon baking powder from the recipe since I'd already used 2 teaspoons of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was excellent, like the ones that are served with fish fries in Wisconsin. The only thing I did different was I soaked the shredded potato and squeezed out the juice before adding the rest of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is just what I was looking for . Next time I will grate the potatoes a little thicker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Really good. I recently got potato pancakes at a German restaurant and was really disappointed with how doughy and floury they were and they were lacking real potato crispness. I went looking for a recipe to rekindle my love for potato pancakes and this was it. Crisp potato with onion flavor. I grated the potato and the onion together, squeezed out the excess moisture in the potato onion mixture before adding it into the other ingredients. When I scooped it, I left behind all the extra moisture as well. Tasted great - would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is the same recipe that my mother used in the 40's. So that the potatoes do not turn black, drain the juice and squeeze some lemon on it. No milk is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Radtke Pirko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nic Vanfleet
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I am German and Irish, so I LOVE potatoes and potato pancakes. We missed Oktoberfest this year, so I didn't get my annual fix. I decided to make these. The mix looked perfect! I used fresh homegrown potatoes and fresh homegrown onions for the recipe. I measured everything perfectly, and these turned out TERRIBLE. Aside from cooking up correctly, the middle of the pancakes seemed to taste odd and tasted pretty bad! Sorry Guy! Not the recipe to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic Vanfleet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States