German Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
GOOD OLD HOME COOKING, ITS GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I was out of red peppers, which I didn't realize until I had the soup started, so had to leave those out. I also didn't have the potato flakes so I whisked a little cornstarch in with a little extra mayo & whisked into the soup at the end. Perfection! LOVE the richness that the mayo adds & the combo of cheeses. Great with diced ham or bacon added in also. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe a number of times and it is delicious every time! It is very rich but I also try to use low/non fat where I can. It is so rich that these substitutions do not make any difference. I also try to add extra celery and carrots (to make myself feel better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this for a potluck at church and it was the first dish gone! Everyone was asking "who made the soup?" Even my pastor said "this is Soup Plantation Good!" I cooked it in the crockpot all day and added the cheeses when I got home. I omitted the bell pepper only put in a third of the mayo and added broccoli and bacon bits. It was very smooth, rich and delicious. It's a keeper! Lyn in Carlsbad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Spectacular! The lack of meat was a hard sell to my husband, but it got a rave review! After tasting i added bay leaf and basil, beacuse I likea little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I found the original recipe to produce a satisfying, but somewhat crude, overly thick result - and I actually left out the velveeta and flakes. I find you can produce a much more impressive and complex soup by easing back to a thinner consistency sans flakes and ditching the velveeta for asiago. Between cheese and mayo you will get all the thickness a soup really needs. I tried adding some rosemary and bay leaves to the broth , which adds a very earthy and vivid ambiance to the odor. It is necessary to remove the bay leaves at the end of the boil though, or all the cheese will congeal on them when you add it in to melt. Dijon mustard also made a nice addition to thicken and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Loved this, made as directed except instead of the 4tbsp chicken soup base and 4 cups water, I used all chicken broth and total of 6 cups. I did add some cayenne and garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This soup is very rich, very good. I used it in addition to a main course but next time it will BE the main course. I followed the recipe to a tee, and it was terrific. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This had great flavor and everything cooked evenly. Didn't need the potato flakes for thickening, the cheese did that on it's own. This is not a 5 star for a couple of reasons. First off b/c of all the cheese, chicken broth (low sodium at that), and mayonnaise, this was nearly too salty. Second, for our tastes it was way too rich. I think next time I will half the Velveeta and add low fat milk instead. Also, we topped it off with about a T of bacon, did not use any of the grease. It was very pretty with the carrots and red bell peppers and the celery was a nice touch. All in all a great winter time, stick to your bones soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Loved this soup! I cut my veggies up the night before so I wouldn't have to do much prep work the next day. After reading other reviews I decided to use 1/2 the mayo and It turned out wonderful! 5 Stars from the family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States