German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was very good and very easy. I think I'll just make it on top of the stove in a covered saucepan next time. If you didn't like the kraut, use canned sauerkraut, the Bavarian style isn't as tart (or rinse it to remove some of the "sour").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was delicious. I added black and white pepper and red pepper flakes to the sauerkraut mix. Was not too spicy at all. Also, deglazed pan after I browned the pork chops with 1/4 cup or so wine and poured it over the chops before I put on the kraut. Will definitely make again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Super yummy! I only used half the brown sugar and rubbed the meat with salt and pepper before browning. Easy and hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! Easy and delicious! I used Bavarian sauerkraut which already has the caraway seeds in it; therefore, I did not need to add the extra caraway seeds. Also, Bavarian sauerkraut has some sugar in it; so, I reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. I rubbed both sides of each pork chop with salt and black pepper prior to browning. I used a red delicious apple. Delicious! (I served with the allrecipes.com recipe for zucchini cornbread.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I made 4 pork chops in an 11x7 pan. Used a 14oz. can of sauerkraut, 1 McIntosh apple and 1 Gala apple, 1 onion and 1 cup of brown sugar(will use less brown sugar next time). Did not have caraway seeds. Served with buttered whole wheat noodles and asparagus sauteed in olive oil with minced garlic. Excellent dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this receipe! It's easy and everyone loves it. The only modifications I do is I don't add the caraway seeds and add a dash of cinnamon and pick up the browning from the pork with a little chicken broth and pour on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
If I could giver 10 I would...this recipe made me a pork chop fan! Love the authentic german flavors, we ate with buttered egg noodles sprinkled with paprika....thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I asked my grandmother if she knew the name for this recipe. But she didn't. There are so many different variations of sauerkraut here in germany.... Guys, bet what we had for dinner on sunday. Yes! Thank you for the great inspiration, I didn't have sauerkraut for quiet long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyTaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great dish, my husband even liked it and he hates sauerkraut:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States