German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Tried this recipe for the 1st time tonight. Made according to directions, except for the amount of sugar. As we don't like sauerkraut too sweet, we reduced brown sugar to about 1/4cp. This was definately unique...Unsure if I will make this again. It wasn't bad, just not really to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
perfect exactly as designed. I didn't make any adjustments. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
very easy to make. I cut down brown sugar to 1/4 cup but still too sweat to our tastes. I think depneds on the type of apple? (I used golden delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kunimi Togashi Ehresmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I was put on the spot to do something with the center cut loin pork chops for Sunday dinner. Found this recipe and hit the ball out of the park! I omitted the caraway seeds and no one noticed. Easy to make, and a delicious alternative to the usual pork chops on the plate in brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was a delicious recipe!! I seasoned my chops with black and white pepper, garlic powder and kosher salt and then pan seared them and placed in slow cooker. I reduced the brown sugar to make it healthier to about 1/4c and it was still sweet enough. I suppose you can even omit and sub applesauce. Thus the reason for only four stars. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a good recipe if you like these ingredients. My family did not enjoy this probably due to the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My husband, whose parents are from Germany, said this was a very authentic recipe and absolutely loved it. I cut the recipe in half to make 5 smaller, center cut chops. Served with spaetzle and sauteed spinach. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Amazing. I did only use 1//4 cup of brown sugar as I had read in previous reviews. Perfect harmony of sweetness. I used smaller sized, boneless pork chops, so I browned them for about 3 minutes on each side - rubbed salt & pepper on the chops before browning them, and sprinkled a bit of sugar to get them to brown quicker. I baked them for 35 mintues instead of 45. Perfectly cooked. My husband and I both enjoyed! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is excellent, my family loved it! I did cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe, we'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENPAK1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great dish, my husband even liked it and he hates sauerkraut:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States