German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
The whole family enjoys this. The kids love to see it puff up in the oven. You can cook it on a temp up to 400 degrees and cut the cook time to 20-25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I'd give this ten stars if it was possible. I am the worst pancake maker. I usually burn them, or the other extreme, are under cooked. These are so easy! No flipping, no guessing if they are done, no smoking up your kitchen. Just pour the batter in the pan and 40 minutes later, the most wonderful pancake that that tastes somewhat like a french toast without the bread. Enough to feed my husband, myself and my 2 kids (4 and 3) A definate keeper! Thanks Barb in BC canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Quick, easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
What a great recipe! It has a delicious flavor and is so easy to make. Was an absolute hit at our Pancake Day lunch. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
this is just like my aunt's recipe, except she sprinkled nutmeg on top as well. If you make it in a blender it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is so YUMMY I'm going to have to double the recipe! Delicious and beautiful! Even my little ones ate it and that is saying a lot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
very easy hot breakfast in a busy family life. The kids ate it all up. lots of syrup. I recommend adding powdered sugar sprinkled on top. Any kind of jam works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
INCREDIBLE recipe! Very impressive when you take out of the oven because it puffs up (but does flatten after cutting/resting for a bit). SO much easier than pancakes! I used two 9inch round cake pans to cook the recipe in, baking in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Also followed previous reviewers recommendation and added 4 T. sugar, 1 t. vanilla, and a dash of nutmeg. Sprinkled with powdered sugar after I removed from the oven. For big syrup lovers, you may want to cut sugar down to 2 T. as it was sweet enough for me without syrup. Would be lovely with fresh fruit! Thank you Bren! You've saved my family from enduring any more of my failed traditional pancake attempts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
My mother used to make a similar recipe, and she baked it in two metal cake pans. So I divided the butter and the batter in half and made two round pancakes, and they tasted great. I baked at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This reminded me of a cross between a popover and a Bickfords big apple. I put 1 cup of frozen blackberrys and a tes. of vinella and a dash of cinnemon. I omited the salt. Cooked it a little longer because of the frozen berrys. Next time I will put some sugar in also. This time I put powdered sugar on top. The berrys were also a bit tart "LOVED IT" my hubby wants whiped cream next time on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States