German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was so good! I added a tsp of Baking Soda to help with the rise and poured into the butter while it was hot. PERFECT! I can see this being used as a dessert: Add some fresh fruit in the middle with whipped cream. (I would add some sugar to the batter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
VERY dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yumm-o! Going into my regular rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was a quick and easy alternative to normal breakfast. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added some cinnamon, sugar and vanilla extract as well as mashed banana. It was a winner! The only thing I would do next time is double the batch to make the batter thicker. It comes out very thin in a 9x13 dish. I think adding apple instead of banana would also make it very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleview, Florida, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I followed some others suggestions and added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla, a pinch of nutmeg and 3 T sugar. Baked in a well seasoned, preheated cast iron skillet at 450 for 20 min. It came out of the oven HUGE, but then fell. Squeezed the juice of 1 lemon on top and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Did not need anything else. It was wonderful and my wife loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this with a bit of vanilla and topped it with fresh strawberries, whipped cream, and a bit of maple syrup. I'm in heaven! I will be making this a part of my family weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Was really good, everyone liked it. To add a little flavor, I substituted the milk with vanilla soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Awesome!!! My kids loved it! There was nothing left over! I added 3tbs cinnamon sugar and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I grew-up on these also. Not sure about the spelling, but we called it Aul di fru. Have some of the old recipes in my head, when people the ask amounts of ingredients I'm never sure cuz Grandma Never measured anything, you just made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Has anyone tried mixing apples, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl then melt the butter in a (perferably) cast iron skillet on med- low heat and brush it around to coat the inside then add the apple mixture and pour the batter over the top then bake it? Then when it's done invert it onto a platter or large plate. That's how I've done it in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States