German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I make these quite often and they are fantastic! We squeeze fresh lemon on them and then sprinkle powdered sugar before enjoying. It's a light breakfast with lots of protein that fills you up and keeps you going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I love these! I find that it takes much longer to cook then my other recipe. But the toppings are what makes it taste so good. I use maple syrup with cut up strawberrys or other fruit and the I sprinkle some powderd sugur on it. thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It's the best food I have ever had in my LIFE!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine Parks
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a great basic recipe to make and to play with. I substituted almond milk for the 2% milk (Hubbie is lactose intolerant.) And added a teaspoon of buttermilk powder to the egg/milk mixture. I think it would be very easy to make "sweet" by adding vanilla or even another type of extract like raspberry. I will do that and add my findings to this review. I am even thinking about a chocolate version cuz everything is better with chocolate! I topped it with powdered sugar as soon as it was out of the oven so it would kind of melt on the pancake. I also lined my pan with parchment paper which made it come out of the pan with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Parks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
i loved this recipe!!!! i changed the serving size down to 4 and followed the recipe. I did change it however by adding a 3 tablespoons of sugar,1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 1 tablespoon of melted butter. i also put all the ingredients in a blender instead of mixing it by hand in a bowl. The key point is to make sure that all ingredients are at room temperature and to use a cast iron pan. ( make sure you heat the pan in the oven while your prepping the batter) i sprinkled powdered sugar, served with stawberries and chocolate syrup. everyone loved it! i would definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
it was amazing!!! I put powdered sugar on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I serve this with a generous sprinkle of powdered sugar and lemon wedges for a special breakfast. Slice some strawberries on the side, and add a few blackberries or blueberries. Very pretty! We have some individual cast iron skillets, which work great and are fun to use when we have guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llorienna
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I love this simple and delicious recipe. I used Becel instead of butter and a 9x13 glass baking dish because that's what we have at home. It grows pretty high, but retracts a bit while cooling. I think syrup is plenty sweet so adding more sugar and spices is not my preference. The contrast between the buttery pancake with a texture similar to a Yorkshire pudding and the sweet maple syrup is delicious. I even ate it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've been making this for a few years, but this recipe is easier than what I have been using. I did melt the butter in a large oven-proof skillet before adding the batter & I allowed it to cook on the stove top 1 min before putting it in the oven. Also cut back to 4 eggs and added 1/4c sugar, some cinnamon, & nutmeg. Squeeze a fresh lemon over the top & sprinkle with powdered sugar. So easy & so DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Reminds me of popovers only easier to make. Followed the directions exactly except for pan size, I followed another reviewer and used a 9X13in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States