German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I make this often with the following changes. Add 1 tsp cinnamon, 3 tablespoons of sugar, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Use only 1 or 2 eggs and 3 tablespoons butter. I bake it in a 9x13 baking dish at 400 degrees for ~23 minutes. Grate nutmeg and dust top with powdered sugar after removing from the oven. My family loves this dish for breakfast, even my picky 2 year old! Often I substitute in up to 1/4 cup wheat germ for 1/4 cup of the flour (1/4 C wheat germ + 3/4 C flour). Sometimes I add a well-mashed banana to the batter. It comes out great every time, with some variation on the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
The whole family enjoys this. The kids love to see it puff up in the oven. You can cook it on a temp up to 400 degrees and cut the cook time to 20-25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I've made this for years in our B&B! Only I did it using 4 eggs and dash of nutmeg and baked in a pre-heated iron skillet at 450. I put the butter in the hot pan, after it melted and sizzled, then pour in the batter! That gives it a head start on it's cooking and rising capabilities! Bake for 20 minutes! Gorgeous presentation filled with fresh fruit of the season and dollop of mixture of sour cream and brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe, but my mom makes it truly fabulous with buttermilk syrup. mix 1 1/2 cups white sugar, 3/4 cup buttermilk, 1/2 cup butter, 2 TBSP corn syrup and 1 tsp baking soda. Bring to a boil, cook for seven minutes, then stir in 2 tsps vanilla. YUMMY! It's perfect on these pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I added sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg and I halved the recipe and baked it in a square pan at 400 for about 12 minutes. It turned out perfectly, very much like a slightly thick crepe. It wasn't too mushy or too dry. While it was baking I cooked some apples in butter, cinnamon, and sugar in a covered skillet over medium heat and poored them on top when it came out of the oven....this was just delicious! I served it with maple syrup, definately an optional choice, it didn't need it by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
These were great! I was able to get two large pancakes out of this recipe. Per other recommendations I added nutmeg, in this case allspice, and about 4 tablespoons of sugar, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. It improved the flavor greatly. I also had enough to make another one this morning. I refrigerated the batter and set it out while the oven preheated. The result was beautifully brown and fluffy pancake. For syrup I used lemon wedges, powdered sugar and some butter. Viola! Fantastic!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Excellent! I suggest using an 9X13 pan (or 7X11). I used a smaller dish and while baking, the pancake "grew" up the sides and into the oven rack above! It was quite a sight! When I took it out of the oven it settled much like a souffle! I added 4T sugar and 1t cinnamon to mixture as previous reviewers suggested (I'm glad I did!). Sprinkled with powdered sugar and topped with defrosted frozen sliced strawberries! Everyone liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I have made this recipe for years. The only difference is that I bake mine at 450 degrees. This quantity will make two pancakes baked in cast iron skillets. I think the cast iron (and the high cooking temp.) is essential for getting the right texture. Just make sure you use a well-seasoned pan and spray it liberally with cooking spray. I eat my pancake with honey. I have yet to find a child that doesn't love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used to make this when I was younger but couldn't remember the amount of the ingredients, so I used this recipe. It was bland and flavorless and used twice as much ingredients than should be used. Fortunately I found my old recipe and will follow it next time. Basically, it turned out way to thick and chewy than it is supposed to. It should only be 3 eggs and 1/2 cup sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is the breakfast my mom would always make for me when I was sick, and I always loved it! This recipe tastes just like I remembered it. I put it in a 9x13 pan. It's so easy to make too. I forgot to add the salt, but the I used salted butter so it was all good. I took a reviewer's advice to bake at 400 for about 25 minutes. I didn't want to wait any longer than that this morning! Served with real maple syrup, but I also enjoy lemon juice on powdered sugar with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States