German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The perfect puffy treat for a lazy weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used the serving calculator to make 8 servings. It called for 8 eggs, the pan could not contain all of the ingredients. I used a 9x13 2.5 in pan and the pancake is well above the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So good. I did add 4 TBS sugar and tbs Vanilla. And cooked it in a 9x13 pan (it would overflow a smaller one). Served it with a simple homemade strawberry syrup, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
would be a five if add 3 Tsp of sugar, 1tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla for cooking I cooked at 400F for 20min. next time I will put pan in oven for preheat and then poor mixture in when oven ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was great. Cut the recipe in 1/2 and reduced the butter to 2 Tbsp and baked it in a cast iron skillet. Served it with powdered sugar and grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this recipe for it's simplicity and visual presentation. Recently I cut this recipe into a single serving and baked in a ramekin. Although not as thin as when baked in a larger pan, the taste was just the same and it was still visually appealing. I am now thinking that even when making for more guests, that I will make individual servings baked in ramekins, dusted with powdered sugar and topped with either a warm apple compote or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I added 1/8 tsp Vanilla and 1/4 tsp cinnamon also. All the cinnamon rose to the top and made a beautiful crust. We topped with Maple Syrup and it is very similar to an eggy french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerdempsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! My husband loves it too! These German pancakes are delicious. I substitute 1/2 cup spelt flour for 1/2 of the all-purpose flour (1/2 spelt flour + 1/2 cup white all-purpose flour). The spelt flour gives it a nutty flavor. I dust with powdered sugar when it is finished baking and serve with pure maple syrup. It makes a FANTASTIC breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
When I followed this exact recipe, I ended up with a very dense pancake. Wasn't at all like the german pancakes I use to eat. But with a bit of tweaking, it's turning out great. And I don't know if it's implied that you split this recipe, but even by reducing some of the ingredients, I end up making 4 1 cup mixture pancakes. Here's what I do : 3 eggs, 3/4 cup flour, 1 cup milk, dash of salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 2 tablespoons sugar. Melt the butter in a cast iron skillet in the over (about 3-4mins) then bake a 1 cup portion of the mixture for 11-13mins at 400 degrees. So good base recipe, but definitely suggesting adding vanilla extract at minimum. If husband like cinnamon/nutmeg, I'd probably be putting that in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very satisfying. I used buttermilk and served with chopped tomatoes mixed with Gewurztraminer mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States