German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is fast and easy to prepare and cooks quickly. This is our family favorite. We usually cook at 400 for 20 minutes. Occasionally, for a twist I'll add a tsp of vanilla and a tablespoon of cinnamon. At Christmastime, I like to add nutmeg and cinnamon about a tsp each and serve with an orange syrup. For presentation, I will occasionally lightly dust plate with powdered sugar just to add a touch of "snow". You can also make this traditional and serve or add more savory ingredients in which case do not add the vanilla. The vanilla makes the egg dish more like a puffed pastry and sweeter in taste. Have fun experimenting. Make it plain and they live it just as much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was excellent. Sprinkle with a little bit of lemon juice when done and add a couple of teaspoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The perfect puffy treat for a lazy weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used the serving calculator to make 8 servings. It called for 8 eggs, the pan could not contain all of the ingredients. I used a 9x13 2.5 in pan and the pancake is well above the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So good. I did add 4 TBS sugar and tbs Vanilla. And cooked it in a 9x13 pan (it would overflow a smaller one). Served it with a simple homemade strawberry syrup, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
would be a five if add 3 Tsp of sugar, 1tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla for cooking I cooked at 400F for 20min. next time I will put pan in oven for preheat and then poor mixture in when oven ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was great. Cut the recipe in 1/2 and reduced the butter to 2 Tbsp and baked it in a cast iron skillet. Served it with powdered sugar and grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this recipe for it's simplicity and visual presentation. Recently I cut this recipe into a single serving and baked in a ramekin. Although not as thin as when baked in a larger pan, the taste was just the same and it was still visually appealing. I am now thinking that even when making for more guests, that I will make individual servings baked in ramekins, dusted with powdered sugar and topped with either a warm apple compote or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I added 1/8 tsp Vanilla and 1/4 tsp cinnamon also. All the cinnamon rose to the top and made a beautiful crust. We topped with Maple Syrup and it is very similar to an eggy french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerdempsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! My husband loves it too! These German pancakes are delicious. I substitute 1/2 cup spelt flour for 1/2 of the all-purpose flour (1/2 spelt flour + 1/2 cup white all-purpose flour). The spelt flour gives it a nutty flavor. I dust with powdered sugar when it is finished baking and serve with pure maple syrup. It makes a FANTASTIC breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States