German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
great recipe we enjoy this for a different kind of sweet breakfast treat on special occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe is so easy my beginning Food Science class fix it with no problems.I have two classes of 30 students and each group (of 4 students) did an excellent job and they loved it. We even invited the German class over so we could make it for them. I was a BIG success. This is a rating with 88 students and 2 teachers-5 star rating! Fama FACS Teacher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Wow! What a rich and delicious breakfast dish. This has now become a holiday breakfast favorite. The pancakes are even better with some frozen (thawed) berries poured on first and then topped with the wonderful buttermilk syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Loved these. The only problem is my family liked it so well I had to make another batch. The sauce, if you have any leftover is also great over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Wow! This was great. I can't believe I made syrup. I have been looking for a good german pancake recipe, and although making the syrup takes a little time, it is well worth it. The whole family loved it. The syrup is versatile, so we are planning to make french toast with the rest. Thank you! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Wow! We love the sauce with this recipe. It is a definate keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Wonerfully tasty. We loved this recipie. The sauce would be great over reg. pancakes, waffles, or frenchtoast. The sauce is like a carmel sauce. I put leftover sauce in frige and would be great overicecream. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We are always looking for things to add to the breakfast menu. This was a wonderful recipe and after one try has become our pickiest child's favorite breakfast! She loved it with Strawberries and cream over it! The syrup is awesome! No more Mrs. Butterworth's in our house! We are going to try it next time with maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
What a winner! I used spelt flour instead of wheat, cut the sugar down to 1 cup in the sauce, added maple flavoring and used whole milk as I had no buttermilk. SO GOOD! It'll be a tradition in our household too. Thanks for the great take on an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe is wonderful!!!! Very sweet so it's perfect for my family of sweet tooths! Thank you Penny for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States