German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
The pancake is a nice departure from traditional pancakes. The Buttermilk Sauce is particularly good. My family uses this sauce on pancakes and waffles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Awesome!! I've made German pancakes before but never with a sauce this good! It was caramel-like and delicious. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup (still very sweet!) and cut down on the butter by 2 TB. The directions say to use a small saucepan, but I used a medium one, and it was just a few centimeters from boiling over! So use a large one. I will use this sauce for other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This recipe is quite 'different', to say the least. We found the sauce tasty, but way too sweet and rich for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe is so easy my beginning Food Science class fix it with no problems.I have two classes of 30 students and each group (of 4 students) did an excellent job and they loved it. We even invited the German class over so we could make it for them. I was a BIG success. This is a rating with 88 students and 2 teachers-5 star rating! Fama FACS Teacher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
great recipe we enjoy this for a different kind of sweet breakfast treat on special occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Wow! This was great. I can't believe I made syrup. I have been looking for a good german pancake recipe, and although making the syrup takes a little time, it is well worth it. The whole family loved it. The syrup is versatile, so we are planning to make french toast with the rest. Thank you! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Loved these. The only problem is my family liked it so well I had to make another batch. The sauce, if you have any leftover is also great over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
The "pancakes" are very eggy but there are tons of eggs in french toast and it does remind me of crepes, like another review stated. The buttermilk/caramel syrup is to die for! It is very sweet but went well with the less than sweet pancakes. I did follow the receipe to the letter but I am sure some substitutions could be done without problems. Make sure you stir the sauce for the entire 7 minutes of boiling because you are making carmel syrup when you do this. The caloric content on these is huge but the taste is amazing! You might be able to make one batch of syrup to two batches of pancakes. Amazing receipe~! Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Wow! We love the sauce with this recipe. It is a definate keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Wow! What a rich and delicious breakfast dish. This has now become a holiday breakfast favorite. The pancakes are even better with some frozen (thawed) berries poured on first and then topped with the wonderful buttermilk syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States