German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
So...Stuffed!!! I had THREE plates of this for Breakfast, when normally I don't eat much - if any - breakfast. Wow, this is so yummy and unbelievably easy! I did add a touch of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to the egg mixture. And, for the sauce, I took What a Dish!'s advice of cutting the sugar to 1 cup and dropping the butter down 2 tbs. And, finally: I used a 2 qt saucepan, which resulted in my needing to scrub the floor from the boiling over. Definitely use a LARGE pan / pot for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
ZOMG TOTTALY DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Hi I found this recipe because I was looking for german recipes because I was interested what you (american) guys consider to be german... Tasts good, but why is it called german pancake? German pancakes look & taste totally different, I must know, I am German! German pancakes are similar to your pancakes they are just bigger! best wishes from germany;) (Ask me If you want REAL german recipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The was GREAT!!! I did not expect it would be so delicious. My husband had the first bite and he could not stop talking about it. Then I took a bit... OMG (oh my gosh).My husband loved it so much he wanted to learn how to make it himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this recipe Christmas morning and loved it - the syrup was WONDERFUL! The recipe was easy and did not take long to bake. It came out of the oven in an odd warped shape but it only added to the aesthetics of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMES_MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
The syrup is by far the best syrup I have ever made. I have been making it since last year. I always have some made in the fridge. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
The sauce is fantastic! I used a different German Pancake recipe that included cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. but the sauce was a huge hit and hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
realy good! i made it for my little brother on his return home, the goof ate more of the sauce then the pancake...even poured it on bread pudding later that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This sauce is so yummy! Try substituting a half cup or even a full cup of the white sugar for brown sugar instead. It makes it especially luscious & caramelly. Use a pot larger than you think you'd need or else it might boil over. I usually get the sugar disolved in the buttermilk , corn syrup & butter first, before adding the baking soda. I add vanilla last after taking the pot off the heat. I never tried to German pancake part of the recipe so I can't comment on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
5 stars for the sauce. I made it to go with another pancake recipe. I will try this one next. The sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States