German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a family favorite at our house!! I have 4 kids (all under 12) and I have to double the pancake recipe. I do not double to Buttermilk sauce and I still have extra sauce. I served it with strawberries and whipped cream and bacon this morning. I downloaded pictures of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've been making German Pancakes for some time now, but this time I made the Buttermilk sauce to go with them, WOW!!! My kids wanted syrup untilt the tasted the buttermilk sauce. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Everything about this was good! The pancake was a good base for the sauce - but didn't have much flavor on it's own. The sauce was basically a caramel sauce. I did cut down the sugar in the sauce to 1 cup like has been suggested and it was plenty sweet. My husband switched to maple syrup on his second piece because he felt it was too much like eating dessert for breakfast with the buttermilk sauce on it. I'm all for dessert any time of day, so it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Superb and easy to make!!! Everyone enjoyed it and I will make it again! What a wonderful change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMIMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Sinfully good...a very yummy weekend treat. My husband loves German Pancakes and I have tried several recipes and we are going to stick with this one. The sauce portion of the recipe makes a lot so I would probably make 1/2 next time, but it does seem like it would be good on other pancakes or french toast. One thing to note about the sauce is that it gets very foamy, very fast so keep an eye on it and use a sauce pan that is much bigger than you need...with all the sugar it wouldn't be fun to have it boil over! ***As an amendment to my earlier comment: My family is now totally addicted to the sauce, so much so that I actually make a double recipe since it saves well. I do add the baking soda in after I remove it from the heat to help with the foaming up and due to reasons of guilt since we are eating it more often I have cut the amount of butter in half and it is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Just the way my grandma use to make them. MMMM! My kids love them too. As kids we always use to love to see how big they got in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
The sauce was fantastic, but I didn't like the "pancake" at all. It tasted more like a fritatta with syrup. My husband and son liked it, which is why I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
So...Stuffed!!! I had THREE plates of this for Breakfast, when normally I don't eat much - if any - breakfast. Wow, this is so yummy and unbelievably easy! I did add a touch of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to the egg mixture. And, for the sauce, I took What a Dish!'s advice of cutting the sugar to 1 cup and dropping the butter down 2 tbs. And, finally: I used a 2 qt saucepan, which resulted in my needing to scrub the floor from the boiling over. Definitely use a LARGE pan / pot for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
ZOMG TOTTALY DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Hi I found this recipe because I was looking for german recipes because I was interested what you (american) guys consider to be german... Tasts good, but why is it called german pancake? German pancakes look & taste totally different, I must know, I am German! German pancakes are similar to your pancakes they are just bigger! best wishes from germany;) (Ask me If you want REAL german recipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States