German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
These were really great! My husband and I just loved these. He said they're better than pancakes...We now are making them a Christmas breakfast tradition. Once suggestion would be to let the syrup cool a little to allow to thicken. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this recipe today using “whole,” “clean” foods and it was spectacular! I used buttermilk for the entire recipe (what else are you going to use all that buttermilk for?), sucanat instead of sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, coconut oil to replace butter, and ½ the amount of light agave nectar instead of corn syrup. I cannot believe how decadent this dish is and healthy too! My boyfriend does not like to eat healthy AT ALL and when I served this dish to him he couldn’t get enough of it! I was thoroughly impressed with how easy it was to convert to clean eating…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
loved it, used regular milk instead of buttermilk (what we had on hand) and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The pancake is like any other german or ovenpuffed pancake ive had, but the syrup is amazing. It makes the whole dish. I wont make any other kind of syrup again. ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We really liked the sauce, but like other reviewers I found that I needed a bigger pan than what I orginially started with. I thought the pancake complimented the sauce well, the texture was more like an omlet than a pancake. I am definitely going to make the sauce again, but I think I might look for a more pancake-like pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The syrup is delicious! It's like caramel sauce. Although you have got to use a very large pan. I had a medium saucepan in the beginning and it boiled over. I suspect that's because of the baking soda. I've been making German pancakes served with maple syrup, but this buttermilk syrup is the best and will be the one to use from now on. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used a buttermilk powder mix instead. I also added 1/2 tsp salt to the pancake. Everything else was exactly the same. I love German pancakes because they're so versatile and are a wonderful combination with sweet syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This sauce is the most wonderful tasting I have ever made ,it's wonderful ,and my bf took it in his lunch today !!!!!!!! He loves it I can't wait for my kids and grandkids have a try ,,they will be hooked !! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Zomar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was excellent. The buttermilk sauce is the bomb!! Very sweet and ooey gooey. Easy to make too. Pancake was fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
the pancake was too eggy, the sauce tasted like baking soda... next time i will try with less eggs and less baking soda... my son and bf liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Very good. Reminded me (like others) more of french toast than a pancake. My dh said it reminded him of a large omlett. The sauce was very good, but a little sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States