German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Put simply, this is the easiest way to make pancakes ever! I did add apx 1 tb of sugar to the pancake mix, and altered the sauce a bit by cutting the sugar, adding 1 ts cinnamon, and 1 tb hazelnut syrup (like the kind you use in lattes) and it all came out DELICIOUS!!!! Even reheated very well the next a.m. (reheated in a skillet, worked great). Very similar to a Dutch Baby... I don't see how this could possibly serve 12 people though, we got 2 breakfasts for 2 people out of it so I'd say more like 4 servings, definitely NOT 12, just sayin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is one of the very best pancake recipes I have ever tried. And the syrup is to die for!! Mmmmm. I always make this for special occasions. You can never go wrong. I am German, and this recipe makes me proude!! I like it because you can get the pancake ingredients ready the night before and then just pop the pan in the oven in the morning. It's a win/win. Oh, and the syrup does take a while on the stove (at least mine did), but it is so worth it. Thanks for the recipe. I will keep it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were excellent. The first time I made the recipe exactly as stated except I substituted Clover Honey for the Corn Syrup as I don't keep it in the house. I started out w/a small sized sauce pan for the syrup, but had to upgrade as the sauce quickly outgrew the pan I used. I also used the butter to grease the baking dish, but the 'pancake' ended up sticking to the baking dish. Baking time was right on the money. The 2nd time I made it, I halved the recipe, and used a nonstick butter flavored spray on an 8x8 glass baking dish and started out using a medium sized sauce pan. This resulted in a slightly denser pancake since the batter wasn't sticking to the pan and then in turn wasn't puffing up. Personally, I preferred it this way. Overall, this was an excellent recipe and even my husband who doesn't like sweet things loved it! This will now officially enter into our regular breakfast run :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
THIS IS GREAT! my son had a school project that he needed to make something german, this was perfect, made it the night before very easy! rewarms in about 20 seconds it even bubbles the eggs up perfectly yum! I did sprinkle a lil cinnamon and nutmeg on the "pancakes" after they came out of the oven, next timeim going to make them in my large muffin tins so everyone gets their own lil pancake, the sauce is easy as well very good! lots of varieties to try with this recipe berries, apples, etc thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My family thought this was delicious. The sauce made it really good, as the pancake itself had very little flavor. I diced an apple, sprinkled on the bottom with the melted butter, and baked about 15 minutes to soften before adding the pancake batter and baking. That added to the interest and flavor. The caramel and apple went well together. Should have sprinkled a little sugar over the apples, though. Next time. Overall was quite good and fun to watch it baking, as the sides puffed up. I'll make it again, for company or a special occasion. Presentation was quite nice. Sauce was good enough to eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
AWESOME! We loved this delicious breakfast treat! I've made German pancakes before and they always fall, something about this one it stayed thick. The syrup on it was divine! A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! The whole family agrees that this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
These were really great! My husband and I just loved these. He said they're better than pancakes...We now are making them a Christmas breakfast tradition. Once suggestion would be to let the syrup cool a little to allow to thicken. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this recipe today using “whole,” “clean” foods and it was spectacular! I used buttermilk for the entire recipe (what else are you going to use all that buttermilk for?), sucanat instead of sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, coconut oil to replace butter, and ½ the amount of light agave nectar instead of corn syrup. I cannot believe how decadent this dish is and healthy too! My boyfriend does not like to eat healthy AT ALL and when I served this dish to him he couldn’t get enough of it! I was thoroughly impressed with how easy it was to convert to clean eating…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
loved it, used regular milk instead of buttermilk (what we had on hand) and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen

Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States