German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty! I added just a bit of sugar and vanilla to the batter for flavor, but the syrup is SO rich and delicious it really wouldn't have made any difference to just do the recipe as is. We ate ours with some fresh berries too - delicious! And I agree, the syrup would be great with any pancake/waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I am rating this 5 stars NOT for the batter, but for the sauce alone. How brilliant to put a caramel sauce with German Pancakes! As for the pancake itself, I have been making German Pancakes for years, and 2 tablespoons of butter is entirely NOT enough. I read a lot of folks having problems with it sticking, and this is the problem with it. The butter needs to be increased to an entire stick (yes, I said it! But your pan and your taste buds will thank you later). Put the butter in the pan and let it melt while making the batter. Also add 1 teaspoon of salt to the batter. Slowly pour the batter into the pan when the oven is preheated and butter is melted, and increase the cooking time to 35-40 min. Take it out, serve, then powdered sugar and that amazing sauce on top. German Pancakes at their best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel514

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was fantastic! I only had 5 eggs on hand and it still turned out wonderful. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was perfect. I topped with strawberries, blackberries, and whipped cream and the family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I was looking for an easy recipe to serve for friends, saw this one and decided to make it for breakfast as a trial run. I am so glad I did. So delicious! I am definitely making it for friends. The buttermilk sauce is like caramel sauce and is to die for. Had a bunch left over so I'm trying it over ice cream later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONIEGOULD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have had German pancake before that my mother-in-law has made and loved it but I must have done something terribly wrong making my own because mine was flat as a pancake and very heavy and my sauce was like caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine0920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I'm grateful for the sauce recipe...it will save me $ as I prefer a pancake syrup with this consistency and can be found in the expensive pure maple syrups. The pancake itself is not something I would make again; which tasted more like flan than a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow! My whole family loved this dish! I did decrease the sugar to 1 cup and it was sweet enough! I reheated it the next day and it tasted just as good! Will definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Have made these on several occasions to rave reviews. Here are some suggestions that I hope might be helpful. There is no difference in using powdered buttermilk and fresh. There is no sugar in the "pancake" so making the syrup is very important and well worth the effort. Because the syrup has baking soda, it expands greatly while you are cooking it. Make sure you have a big enough pot. Count on 2-3 squares of a 12 square cut pan for each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States