German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This really deserves MORE ratings. This is DELISH! We make it for special occasions although it's so easy to make anytime. We quit using store bought syrup and make this sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I feel like it cannot become any more homemade than this. Too bad it could not be more popular in this country. I did reduce the sugar, but I wont ding you because of my preference with sweetness level. It is something I will make again and the sauce will definitely be used elsewhere. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
AMAZING!! I added sliced banana on the bottom and that was delish. All the family loved it from the 2 year old to the 32 year old- it was a hit! So much faster than flipping pancakes and tastier. Thankyou so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We love this recipe! My mom asks me to make it for breakfast at every family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brewster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The German pancake tasted nothng like a real German pancake, which contains no sugar (which is why leftover pancakes are cut up and put into broth to make pancake, or Flädle, soup). Apart from that, the "pancake" itself was nothing spectacular, ended throwing most of it out. The syrup, however, is AMAZING, which is why I gave such a high rating. Will definitely make the syrup again, but cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We love this recipe, but often make the German pancakes alone without the sauce for breakfast -- just use fresh berries/powdered sugar or regular maple syrup on top -- the buttermilk sauce is good, but turns it more into a dessert than a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made the buttermilk sauce from this recipe to go with my own favorite German pancake recipe ... and the sauce is out of this world good! It's a terrific compromise between butter and pancake syrup ... so we plan to use it on waffles, pancakes, and other breakfast dishes, wherever we might normally use syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Yum yum!!! Love love the sauce- a big sauce pan wasn't big enough for me to avoid a spill over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a family favorite especially the buttermilk sauce. I only added 2 cups sugar and it was perfect. Great for a "Breakfast for Dinner" night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I made this recipe exactly according to recipe, only cooking the pancake in my cast iron skillet. Instead of greasing the skillet, I plopped some butter in the skillet and set it in the oven to melt while the oven preheated. I took WhataDish's suggestion to use a medium sized saucepan to make the buttermilk sauce in and she was right on. I've made the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup from this site many times and the syrup from this recipe almost exactly mimics that recipe, minus the cinnamon. This was very good. It's almost like a pancake souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States