German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Awesome! The sauce was incredible and made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I like to do half whole wheat flour. It seems to fill us up better, and is obviously a bit healthier as well. This syrup is fabulous (though super sweet!). It does take away any pretense of a healthy breakfast though. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I love the buttermilk sauce in this recipe! I eat way too much of it. I love using it for other things too besides pancakes, like for dipping pretzels in. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We didn't care for this at all. In addition to being too sweet and having too much vanilla, I used a medium pan and it made a mess all over my stove inspite of stirring not constantly but often. My husband put salt on top of it all and then said "Maybe some hot sauce would help". Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Followed Kel514's suggestion of adding 1t salt & more (1/2c) butter to the pancake batter. No way that 2T is going to do much for flavor & nothing for stopping the mixture from sticking terribly. Used what I call the cornbread method of adding butter to it: Melted it in the oven in the 9x13. Poured all but 2T from the pan to the blender BUT FIRST, I microwaved the cup of milk 1 minute to get the edge off the cold so the butter wouldn't firm up. Placed that in the blender, then the eggs. Blended that a little. Added the butter. Blended. Then, as it was blending, the cup of flour & tsp salt. It was done in 20 minutes just like the recipe states. Maybe Kel514 lowered it for the longer bake time she (?) recommended (45). It does taste more like a good french toast or popovers than a pancake, but it's good & don't let the name bother you. :) I used a large pot & only 1c sugar for the sauce. My, that sauce is gooood! :D It makes about 1 3/4c so way too much for that 9x13; but make all of it anyway. You'll be happy you did It is pretty thin, which you want so you don't overload on sugar; but I may try thickening just a little with a T cornstarch next time. It's thin like real maple syrup. 'Thinking 1T will make it the thickeness of pancake syrup (vs gravy = too thick). KK said she likes it better than regular pancakes & I make some good pancakes! :O :) E said he liked it "halfway". :/ As for servings, maybe 5 hungry people. :D Next day: thick enough cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved this pancake, and my son's prefer these over regular pancakes. :) The sauce is also good, but like other users stated, it is very sweet. Next time I will reduce the sugar. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This really deserves MORE ratings. This is DELISH! We make it for special occasions although it's so easy to make anytime. We quit using store bought syrup and make this sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I feel like it cannot become any more homemade than this. Too bad it could not be more popular in this country. I did reduce the sugar, but I wont ding you because of my preference with sweetness level. It is something I will make again and the sauce will definitely be used elsewhere. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
AMAZING!! I added sliced banana on the bottom and that was delish. All the family loved it from the 2 year old to the 32 year old- it was a hit! So much faster than flipping pancakes and tastier. Thankyou so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We love this recipe! My mom asks me to make it for breakfast at every family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brewster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States