German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This sauce is so yummy! Try substituting a half cup or even a full cup of the white sugar for brown sugar instead. It makes it especially luscious & caramelly. Use a pot larger than you think you'd need or else it might boil over. I usually get the sugar disolved in the buttermilk , corn syrup & butter first, before adding the baking soda. I add vanilla last after taking the pot off the heat. I never tried to German pancake part of the recipe so I can't comment on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
5 stars for the sauce. I made it to go with another pancake recipe. I will try this one next. The sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I scaled this recipe down to serve six and made it exactly as written and it came out perfect. Excellent (and simple) alternative to french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
THIS WAS AWESOME! Thank you for this recipe. I have made this a few times since and it's always been a hit. I used molasses once instead of corn syrup and that was pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I love this dish! It is a fun alternative to regular pancakes and it is so easy. I even make it for dinner. The leftover sauce is great on icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grassy Butte, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Keene, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very yummy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I only made the sauce, but it was good. It kind of tastes like caramel, and is really good on popcorn. It was very sweet though, and kind of overpowered the pancake. I would cut the recipe in half next time because I don't see how anyone could eat that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I also used sour cream instead of buttermilk. It was GREAT!!! I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States