German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
the pancake was too eggy, the sauce tasted like baking soda... next time i will try with less eggs and less baking soda... my son and bf liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Very good. Reminded me (like others) more of french toast than a pancake. My dh said it reminded him of a large omlett. The sauce was very good, but a little sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
So so so so yummy! My husband loved it too!! Be careful not to overcook the dressing. I did but it was still good - it just was overly caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
So good! I love everything about both the pancake and yummy sauce. I use the buttermilk sauce on other pancake recipes and crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was easy to make and delicious. The sauce is very sweet, but its perfect with the pancakes because the pancake is bland, but with a great texture. It is more like a dessert than breakfast, so drink a nice cold glass of milk with the pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a family favorite at our house!! I have 4 kids (all under 12) and I have to double the pancake recipe. I do not double to Buttermilk sauce and I still have extra sauce. I served it with strawberries and whipped cream and bacon this morning. I downloaded pictures of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've been making German Pancakes for some time now, but this time I made the Buttermilk sauce to go with them, WOW!!! My kids wanted syrup untilt the tasted the buttermilk sauce. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Everything about this was good! The pancake was a good base for the sauce - but didn't have much flavor on it's own. The sauce was basically a caramel sauce. I did cut down the sugar in the sauce to 1 cup like has been suggested and it was plenty sweet. My husband switched to maple syrup on his second piece because he felt it was too much like eating dessert for breakfast with the buttermilk sauce on it. I'm all for dessert any time of day, so it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Superb and easy to make!!! Everyone enjoyed it and I will make it again! What a wonderful change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMIMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Sinfully good...a very yummy weekend treat. My husband loves German Pancakes and I have tried several recipes and we are going to stick with this one. The sauce portion of the recipe makes a lot so I would probably make 1/2 next time, but it does seem like it would be good on other pancakes or french toast. One thing to note about the sauce is that it gets very foamy, very fast so keep an eye on it and use a sauce pan that is much bigger than you need...with all the sugar it wouldn't be fun to have it boil over! ***As an amendment to my earlier comment: My family is now totally addicted to the sauce, so much so that I actually make a double recipe since it saves well. I do add the baking soda in after I remove it from the heat to help with the foaming up and due to reasons of guilt since we are eating it more often I have cut the amount of butter in half and it is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States