German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We really liked the sauce, but like other reviewers I found that I needed a bigger pan than what I orginially started with. I thought the pancake complimented the sauce well, the texture was more like an omlet than a pancake. I am definitely going to make the sauce again, but I think I might look for a more pancake-like pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The syrup is delicious! It's like caramel sauce. Although you have got to use a very large pan. I had a medium saucepan in the beginning and it boiled over. I suspect that's because of the baking soda. I've been making German pancakes served with maple syrup, but this buttermilk syrup is the best and will be the one to use from now on. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used a buttermilk powder mix instead. I also added 1/2 tsp salt to the pancake. Everything else was exactly the same. I love German pancakes because they're so versatile and are a wonderful combination with sweet syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This sauce is the most wonderful tasting I have ever made ,it's wonderful ,and my bf took it in his lunch today !!!!!!!! He loves it I can't wait for my kids and grandkids have a try ,,they will be hooked !! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Zomar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was excellent. The buttermilk sauce is the bomb!! Very sweet and ooey gooey. Easy to make too. Pancake was fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
the pancake was too eggy, the sauce tasted like baking soda... next time i will try with less eggs and less baking soda... my son and bf liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Very good. Reminded me (like others) more of french toast than a pancake. My dh said it reminded him of a large omlett. The sauce was very good, but a little sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
So so so so yummy! My husband loved it too!! Be careful not to overcook the dressing. I did but it was still good - it just was overly caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
So good! I love everything about both the pancake and yummy sauce. I use the buttermilk sauce on other pancake recipes and crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was easy to make and delicious. The sauce is very sweet, but its perfect with the pancakes because the pancake is bland, but with a great texture. It is more like a dessert than breakfast, so drink a nice cold glass of milk with the pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a family favorite at our house!! I have 4 kids (all under 12) and I have to double the pancake recipe. I do not double to Buttermilk sauce and I still have extra sauce. I served it with strawberries and whipped cream and bacon this morning. I downloaded pictures of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States