German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have not made the pancake yet however did make the Buttermilk sauce - which is really like syrup and it is the best tasting syrup/sauce for pancakes, waffles, etc. I have ever tasted. Excellent - it would be great in a variety of ways. I will defintely hold on to this recipe and probably try the pancake soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dahlgren, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love German Pancakes, but this recipe with the buttermilk syrup took it to a whole new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilamh
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Didn't make the sauce b/c I've made a similar one before. Just served with powdered sugar =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty! I added just a bit of sugar and vanilla to the batter for flavor, but the syrup is SO rich and delicious it really wouldn't have made any difference to just do the recipe as is. We ate ours with some fresh berries too - delicious! And I agree, the syrup would be great with any pancake/waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I am rating this 5 stars NOT for the batter, but for the sauce alone. How brilliant to put a caramel sauce with German Pancakes! As for the pancake itself, I have been making German Pancakes for years, and 2 tablespoons of butter is entirely NOT enough. I read a lot of folks having problems with it sticking, and this is the problem with it. The butter needs to be increased to an entire stick (yes, I said it! But your pan and your taste buds will thank you later). Put the butter in the pan and let it melt while making the batter. Also add 1 teaspoon of salt to the batter. Slowly pour the batter into the pan when the oven is preheated and butter is melted, and increase the cooking time to 35-40 min. Take it out, serve, then powdered sugar and that amazing sauce on top. German Pancakes at their best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel514

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was fantastic! I only had 5 eggs on hand and it still turned out wonderful. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and it was perfect. I topped with strawberries, blackberries, and whipped cream and the family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I was looking for an easy recipe to serve for friends, saw this one and decided to make it for breakfast as a trial run. I am so glad I did. So delicious! I am definitely making it for friends. The buttermilk sauce is like caramel sauce and is to die for. Had a bunch left over so I'm trying it over ice cream later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONIEGOULD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have had German pancake before that my mother-in-law has made and loved it but I must have done something terribly wrong making my own because mine was flat as a pancake and very heavy and my sauce was like caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine0920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I'm grateful for the sauce recipe...it will save me $ as I prefer a pancake syrup with this consistency and can be found in the expensive pure maple syrups. The pancake itself is not something I would make again; which tasted more like flan than a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States