German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We love this recipe! My mom asks me to make it for breakfast at every family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brewster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The German pancake tasted nothng like a real German pancake, which contains no sugar (which is why leftover pancakes are cut up and put into broth to make pancake, or Flädle, soup). Apart from that, the "pancake" itself was nothing spectacular, ended throwing most of it out. The syrup, however, is AMAZING, which is why I gave such a high rating. Will definitely make the syrup again, but cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We love this recipe, but often make the German pancakes alone without the sauce for breakfast -- just use fresh berries/powdered sugar or regular maple syrup on top -- the buttermilk sauce is good, but turns it more into a dessert than a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made the buttermilk sauce from this recipe to go with my own favorite German pancake recipe ... and the sauce is out of this world good! It's a terrific compromise between butter and pancake syrup ... so we plan to use it on waffles, pancakes, and other breakfast dishes, wherever we might normally use syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Yum yum!!! Love love the sauce- a big sauce pan wasn't big enough for me to avoid a spill over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a family favorite especially the buttermilk sauce. I only added 2 cups sugar and it was perfect. Great for a "Breakfast for Dinner" night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I made this recipe exactly according to recipe, only cooking the pancake in my cast iron skillet. Instead of greasing the skillet, I plopped some butter in the skillet and set it in the oven to melt while the oven preheated. I took WhataDish's suggestion to use a medium sized saucepan to make the buttermilk sauce in and she was right on. I've made the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup from this site many times and the syrup from this recipe almost exactly mimics that recipe, minus the cinnamon. This was very good. It's almost like a pancake souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The pancakes were terrific and the sauce divine. I would just say -- don't use a small saucepan for cooking the sauce. It boils over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have not made the pancake yet however did make the Buttermilk sauce - which is really like syrup and it is the best tasting syrup/sauce for pancakes, waffles, etc. I have ever tasted. Excellent - it would be great in a variety of ways. I will defintely hold on to this recipe and probably try the pancake soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dahlgren, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love German Pancakes, but this recipe with the buttermilk syrup took it to a whole new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilamh
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States