German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by VAZ123
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The first words uttered by my son was "Ymmmmm, gosh this is good". I made it just as it states with one altered step. I have made Carmel corn several times and the favorite recipe I use is a bit different. I've read the complaints about the "growing out of the pan" issues when making the sauce. So when I made the sauce, I did it in the manner in which I make Carmel sauce for popcorn. Wait until the end to add the baking soda. When the sauce gets the consistency that you want (7 minutes is right in the ballpark) remove you pan from the heat THEN add your baking soda with the vanilla and you will not have any mess. It will foam up as your stir it in, but will et corporate without going over the rim of the pan. My sauce tasted excellent and I did it in this manner. The pancake recipe was nice, but I like the recipe I submitted better, Fresh Strawberry Puff Pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this without the buttermilk sauce because we like it with just the powdered sugar (and a little jelly for the kids.) It was a hit. Everyone said it was a nice change from our usual saturday morning pancakes. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Wow. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy bowns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My twins and I made this, halving the recipe and baking it in a 9x9 stoneware pan. It rocked! We had no buttermilk so we used regular milk. It is now a regular part of our breakfast for dinner menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Very good. My kids devoured this. Loved the buttermilk sauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Awesome! The sauce was incredible and made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Suitor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I like to do half whole wheat flour. It seems to fill us up better, and is obviously a bit healthier as well. This syrup is fabulous (though super sweet!). It does take away any pretense of a healthy breakfast though. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I love the buttermilk sauce in this recipe! I eat way too much of it. I love using it for other things too besides pancakes, like for dipping pretzels in. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We didn't care for this at all. In addition to being too sweet and having too much vanilla, I used a medium pan and it made a mess all over my stove inspite of stirring not constantly but often. My husband put salt on top of it all and then said "Maybe some hot sauce would help". Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Followed Kel514's suggestion of adding 1t salt & more (1/2c) butter to the pancake batter. No way that 2T is going to do much for flavor & nothing for stopping the mixture from sticking terribly. Used what I call the cornbread method of adding butter to it: Melted it in the oven in the 9x13. Poured all but 2T from the pan to the blender BUT FIRST, I microwaved the cup of milk 1 minute to get the edge off the cold so the butter wouldn't firm up. Placed that in the blender, then the eggs. Blended that a little. Added the butter. Blended. Then, as it was blending, the cup of flour & tsp salt. It was done in 20 minutes just like the recipe states. Maybe Kel514 lowered it for the longer bake time she (?) recommended (45). It does taste more like a good french toast or popovers than a pancake, but it's good & don't let the name bother you. :) I used a large pot & only 1c sugar for the sauce. My, that sauce is gooood! :D It makes about 1 3/4c so way too much for that 9x13; but make all of it anyway. You'll be happy you did It is pretty thin, which you want so you don't overload on sugar; but I may try thickening just a little with a T cornstarch next time. It's thin like real maple syrup. 'Thinking 1T will make it the thickeness of pancake syrup (vs gravy = too thick). KK said she likes it better than regular pancakes & I make some good pancakes! :O :) E said he liked it "halfway". :/ As for servings, maybe 5 hungry people. :D Next day: thick enough cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States