German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very good - I love the buttermilk sauce!! The pancake is okay, I like that it doesn't have as much butter as my Joy of Cooking German pancake (Dutch Baby, we call it!), but it didn't have as much flavor, either. The sauce made up for that, though, because it was fantastic - and a good alternative when you're out of real syrup. ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
The "pancakes" are very eggy but there are tons of eggs in french toast and it does remind me of crepes, like another review stated. The buttermilk/caramel syrup is to die for! It is very sweet but went well with the less than sweet pancakes. I did follow the receipe to the letter but I am sure some substitutions could be done without problems. Make sure you stir the sauce for the entire 7 minutes of boiling because you are making carmel syrup when you do this. The caloric content on these is huge but the taste is amazing! You might be able to make one batch of syrup to two batches of pancakes. Amazing receipe~! Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Penny, thanks for the best sauce recipe! I didn't try the german pancake, but I've been looking for the Buttermilk Sauce recipe for a long long time. My mom made this sauce when I was a kid, and then lost the recipe. I've been trying to find it for decades. Thank you, thank you! This is great on vanilla ice cream, waffles, pancakes, or anything where you'd want a butterscotch topping. The buttermilk really cuts the sweetness and makes it outrageously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Well, it wasn't quite a hit in my house. Only my son liked it and he only ate one serving because he said it was only good for a little bit. The pancake tasted like eggs (which makes sense)and sweet with eggs isn't something we do here. The syrup is tasty, but I ran into a problem with boil over. I doubled the whole recipe (with a lot left over!)and so I used a fairly good sized sauce pan. Then I moved up to a large when it kept getting bigger, then I started yelling for my son to save me and get me a large pot and it still came to the top. The only thing I can figure is I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tablesppon of lemon to "make" buttermilk. Maybe that caused all the foam and boil-over. Last minute review...my 30 year-old nephew gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
WOW! I made a few alterations to this recipe (due to lack of ingredients), and it came out amazing. For the sauce (which tastes more like caramel than anything) I used margarine instead of butter, 1% milk instead of buttermilk, and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. The pancakes (which taste just like crepes), I cut into 12 squares, put one slice on four plates, added a layer of fresh sliced strawberries, another slice, then another layer of strawberries, topped it with another slice, and drizzled on the sauce. I wish I made two batches, our party of four was begging for more!! Beautiful appearance, easy to make, and absolutely delicious. Will make again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Buttermilk sauce was GREAT!!! Pancakes were so-so...I think i will top regular pancakes with the sauce in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe is wonderful!!!! Very sweet so it's perfect for my family of sweet tooths! Thank you Penny for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
What a winner! I used spelt flour instead of wheat, cut the sugar down to 1 cup in the sauce, added maple flavoring and used whole milk as I had no buttermilk. SO GOOD! It'll be a tradition in our household too. Thanks for the great take on an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
A little more egg-y than I expected, but combined w/the sauce it was delicious, my bf was ready to lick the plate clean. I agree the sauce would taste wonderful on ice cream or even baked apples. I may try to sweeten up the cake next time, just for a more "confectionary" taste. Thank you Penny for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We are always looking for things to add to the breakfast menu. This was a wonderful recipe and after one try has become our pickiest child's favorite breakfast! She loved it with Strawberries and cream over it! The syrup is awesome! No more Mrs. Butterworth's in our house! We are going to try it next time with maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States