German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I love this dish! It is a fun alternative to regular pancakes and it is so easy. I even make it for dinner. The leftover sauce is great on icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grassy Butte, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Keene, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very yummy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I only made the sauce, but it was good. It kind of tastes like caramel, and is really good on popcorn. It was very sweet though, and kind of overpowered the pancake. I would cut the recipe in half next time because I don't see how anyone could eat that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I also used sour cream instead of buttermilk. It was GREAT!!! I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I made the sauce to go with my own pancakes. The kids didn't like it; they said they'd just prefer maple syrup. So, in all, it wasn't bad, but it also wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Awesome!! I've made German pancakes before but never with a sauce this good! It was caramel-like and delicious. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup (still very sweet!) and cut down on the butter by 2 TB. The directions say to use a small saucepan, but I used a medium one, and it was just a few centimeters from boiling over! So use a large one. I will use this sauce for other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Delicious but extraordinarily fattening. Naturally I did not have all the ingredients. Thus instead of buttermilk I used sour cream, and instead of corn syrup I used maple syrup, and it still came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I have been making the pancake portion for awhile now and felt it was missing something. I came across this and found what I was missing! It's like we are eating a cinnamon roll. The only thing alternative I do is if I don't have any real butter, I use what I have on hand be it margarine or I Can't Believe It's Not Butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very good - I love the buttermilk sauce!! The pancake is okay, I like that it doesn't have as much butter as my Joy of Cooking German pancake (Dutch Baby, we call it!), but it didn't have as much flavor, either. The sauce made up for that, though, because it was fantastic - and a good alternative when you're out of real syrup. ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States