German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was an awesome and easy recipe. The syrup was simply amazing! I would definitely use a larger pot for the syrup though. It kept boiling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KySuzzanne
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was excellent. I sprinkled it with cinnamon and a tiny bit of nutmeg and had it with maple syrup as I didn't have the ingredients to make the buttermilk syrup. It was sort of french toasty. Hubby enjoyed it as well. Great way for me to use up some of my fresh eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Capt_Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe, the family loved it! While the recipe says it serves 12 that's not quite the case. I also added about 1/2tsp if imitation rum flavoring to the syrup recipe.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I just made the sauce and it was yummy. But I made the mistake of using a small sauce pan and I almost had a big mess. So I switched to a large one and that worked great. This was very sweet and more like Carmel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't make the sauce so my review is for the pancake only. I cut the recipe in half for two of us. My only change was to reduce the sugar, so I used 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 milk, 3 eggs and then I added 1/4 tsp of pure vanilla extract. I served it with a large fruit salad for dinner. Quick to prepare and very tasty. I will make it this way again for dinner and a full recipe for brunch. Thank you, Penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by VAZ123
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The first words uttered by my son was "Ymmmmm, gosh this is good". I made it just as it states with one altered step. I have made Carmel corn several times and the favorite recipe I use is a bit different. I've read the complaints about the "growing out of the pan" issues when making the sauce. So when I made the sauce, I did it in the manner in which I make Carmel sauce for popcorn. Wait until the end to add the baking soda. When the sauce gets the consistency that you want (7 minutes is right in the ballpark) remove you pan from the heat THEN add your baking soda with the vanilla and you will not have any mess. It will foam up as your stir it in, but will et corporate without going over the rim of the pan. My sauce tasted excellent and I did it in this manner. The pancake recipe was nice, but I like the recipe I submitted better, Fresh Strawberry Puff Pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this without the buttermilk sauce because we like it with just the powdered sugar (and a little jelly for the kids.) It was a hit. Everyone said it was a nice change from our usual saturday morning pancakes. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Wow. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy bowns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My twins and I made this, halving the recipe and baking it in a 9x9 stoneware pan. It rocked! We had no buttermilk so we used regular milk. It is now a regular part of our breakfast for dinner menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States