German Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was on the crumbly side but the flavor was good. Couldn't really taste the rum though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I grew up on from-scratch cakes, and this is a great one. I made the recipe exactly as given. The only recommendation I have is that next time, I will bake it for 60 minutes. I have a dark nonstick bundt pan and 70 minutes was a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great recipe! My family loved it! I think though the cocoa makes it a little dry even though I cooked it for 5 min less than the recipe called for. So the 2nd time i made it i added a small box of vanilla pudding(powder only) and that made it more moist. -my secret to making any cake more moist. Also I added a white icing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrbrown76
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Update. Made it again today, and properly creamed the butter, and added the almond extract this time. Reduced bake time to 60 minutes, and its amazing! When the butter is properly creamed, the cake is fluffier and rises higher. Great recipe, my sister didn't believe me when I told her that it was from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Delicious. Yes, it's dry, but it's really good. I added a box of instant pudding and it was still dry (maybe should have removed that amount of flour instead of just adding it). But it wasn't dry in an unpleasant way - it's just a dense and drier cake than most are used to in the US. I used Bailey's instead of rum and it was delicious. I don't normally like liquor in desserts, but it gave it an extra little subtle quick. I loved the almond extract with it, too. This was a big success when I brought it in to work. I took it out after 60 minutes because I could smell that it was done. Thanks for the recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
A bit dry and heavy, but that's how home-made (as opposed to boxed) cakes are. Flavor is spot-on, so no complaints. Three thumbs UP!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was a good, decent, cake. But not great. I made this tonight for my family and added an almond glaze for the top. The cake itself was a little too light for my taste. I prefer a heavy cake. This was really easy to make though, which is always appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This cake turned out great! I followed recipe except added a package of vanilla instant jello to make it moister, and didn't have rum so instead substituted kahlua. It was boyfriend's birthday and he loved it! I then made a whipped cream frosting with vanilla and almond extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States