German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I can't imagine anything I did wrong, because I'm certain I followed the recipe nearly exactly. It could just be a difference in taste and that this is a flavor I personally dislike. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this with leftover Christmas ham. Excellent for a dreary December day. Like others it needs more liquid, I added beef stock because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
tasted great but, not really a "Soup" add extra broth or it will be thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
P.S. Great served over spaetzle or egg noodles! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I couldn't get my lentils soft in a slow cooker. I've had problems with beans too, so I don't think this is the recipes fault and I didn't deduct stars. I don't like caraway, so I didn't use it. I doubled the carrots cause that's my favorite part. I didn't have a ham hock or cubed ham, but I did have a 1.3lb smoked turkey leg. Amazing. I have turkey thighs smoked locally at Willie birds, so I am lucky to try that next time. Oh, I added 6 cups broth based on other reviewers. I like a thick lentil soup, and this was a little too loose for me. Next time I'll use 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I tried to make this for a dinner party since I was going to be gone all day. In 6 hours, everything had turned to mush in the crockpot. I wish I had read more reviews and not used the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Listen to what others have said, add additional liquid. I added a full box of chicken broth/stock(4cups), then filled it with water and added that water. Later on when lentils plumped it needed additional water(I also used a whole bag, 2.5 cups of lentils). I did not use caraway seed as I did not have it. Used semi-low sodium broth +1 on advice to use a low sodium version. Added 6 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce. I always adjust recipes I make just slightly. Also added 2 cups potatoes. There's just not words how good this recipe is. If you really love lentils, this soup hits the spot. Better than I expected. The best soup I've made so far in my cooking journey. I can see myself defiantly making this again in the winter or maybe sooner. Really excellent flavor after melding all day together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
The recipe should have at least 3 times the amount of liquid stated (even for a slow cookier) since you need a 2 to 1 ratio even to just cook lentils. Anyway, I made this last night for dinner as I've been experimenting with caraway seeds lately. I feel that this recipe is a good solid base and would produce a tasty, warming soup as written. However, I did make the following changes to suit our tastes. We are vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth (2 quarts) for the chicken stock, omitted the ham, but added 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 Tbs. dark brown sugar to add the smokey sweetness that the ham would have imparted to the soup. I doubled the vegetables, since we like lots of veggies, and doubled all of the spices except for the celery salt since we prefer more seasoned foods. I did not have celery salt so I just added 1/2 tsp. celery seed. (celery salt is just celery seed and salt anyway!) I cooked this on the stove instead of in a slow cooker and like most all stove top soups, I just added more water as necessary. It took about 1 hr. from start to finish. I served the soup with some home made whole wheat rolls. I think the soup tasted better today for lunch as it had time to develop the flavors as if I'd prepared it in a slow cooker. I will probably make this again sometime as I like to change up the seasonings in the different bean/lentil soups that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As almost every other reviewer mentioned, this needed a great deal of additional liquid. I used the stovetop method mentioned in the footnotes. I have to admit I didn't really care for this soup, but DH thought it was good. I was hesitant to add the nutmeg, but I wanted to follow the recipe as written. I should have left the nutmeg out. Even though it was just a small amount, I didn't like the way it blended with the other spices especially the caraway. I don't think I'd make this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a great soup once doctored up a bit. As others have noted, there is not enough liquid for the lentils. You should have at least 3 cups liquid per 1 cup lentil. I prefer to use dry beans anyhow, so I cook up my own first and then add it to my soup. I'm not a big fan of measuring when it comes to soups. I adjust the spices and ingredients to my taste and what I have on-hand. This being said, I do use everything except the nutmeg, hot sauce, and celery salt (there's enough flavor with the celery and salt the stock). I also normally don't carry hot pepper sauce, so I just use hot pepper flakes. This is one of my favorite parts of the soup because I put enough in it to make it pretty spicy on the tongue, giving a good kick. I start with 30 oz. chicken stock and add 2 more cups of water and then dump in my 3/4 onion, 1 clove garlic, ham bone, and 2-3 cups of cubed ham. I let that simmer and soften for an hour or so. Then I add everything else except the beans. I let everything simmer and meld on the stove for a few hours and then add the beans and it's done! It's a wonderful winter meal and a great way to finish off your ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States