German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I'm rating this a four due to the wonderful flavor, however, I'm giving it a three for the amount of liquid stated. I agree with others that three cups of broth is certainly not enough. I've been making lentil soup for many years and I know how quickly the lentils absorb the liquid. I made my own stock with a leftover carcass and had to keep added canned broth. I'm German, so the recipe title is what attracted me to view it and I really loved the caraway seed addition as it gave the soup a really nice flavor. In lieu of the parsley, I used kale and added more seasonings than stated. Very good recipe but please keep an eye on it. Thanks Claire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I thought it was a little bland so I used kielbasa instead of ham and added a cup of crushed tomatoes and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. Now that's a great lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
The recipe can easily be a 5 star recipe by simply adding a couple more cans of chicken broth. The recipe doesnt call for enough stock as written. I cooked it on the stove and it took about an hour or so. I used 4 cans of broth which created a very thick soup- it could have easily taken another can. The flavor is great however, and i do recommend it. One other thing, i might also use low sodium broth as it is a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
We enjoyed this soup although it does make a lot! If you have only a couple people cut the recipe in half and you will have plenty! I added about a cup of white wine and a couple chopped red potatoes to the stock pot while it simmered and it added a great touch! I used inexpensive deli ham and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This isn't a bad soup, and we'll finish every drop, BUT -- the instructions are wrong (I doubled the water and still got just a thick stew, not a soup), the cooking time is off (lentils were done at around 4 hours), and the flavor is fairly forgettable. Increasing the water makes the flavor more and more forgettable with every ounce of corrective fluid added. If I make this again, and I just might -- I will triple the fluid and triple the spices to go with it, leaving the lentils & veg at the same amount. I can't help wondering if the original recipe meant three QUARTS of stock since it specifies a 5-6 quart slow cooker. I doubled the liquid and still had a little room left over in my 3 quart slow cooker...Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Pretty good. I "veganized"it by ommiting the ham and using vegetarian "chicken" broth. I added a little more veggies, broth and seasonings than called for. I think next time i might try "beef" broth and a little red wine. But overall it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yes, without a doubt you will have to add more liquid. Aside from that, I am also thinking that next time I will leave out the caraway seeds (if you're not a big fan, you just are not a big fan) and maybe add a bit more Worcestershire. I also like my lentils a bit saltier, so I salted my own bowl, but again, that's a personal preference, and I would rather under-salt so each person can add if they like. I'll keep this one and mark the caraway seeds as "optional".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this soup and then left the house for 4 hours. Luckily, I wasn't gone longer since the lentils had absorbed all of the liquid in the recipe by that time! ( There is nothing wrong with my crock pot and I did have it on the low setting. I ended up adding 4 additional cups of broth and the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I'm not fond of lentils myself, but the family liked it very well. Good way to use leftover easter ham. I nearly doubled the liquid. It would have been awfully thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe - added more ham than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States