German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by this dish. I was going to rate it a five, but I think the amount of chicken broth called for needs to be increased. After four hours, the broth was completely gone and it started to burn. I then added the rest of a 3qt. container of organic chicken broth and it had just enough liquid. Overall, this recipe comes together so quickly, tastes great, and is a relatively low cost meal. I think next time I will have pumpernickel or other brown bread with it. When they first saw it, my family was not too happy because it just doesn't look pretty, but after eating it, they were extremely happy with it. Another added bonus is the great spicy odors that flow through your house while it is cooking. Definitely a keeper! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was EXCELLENT! I am not a huge fan of celery, but decided to stick with the recipe, and it was excellent. The only change I made was I substituted smoked sausage for the ham. The flavor was AWESOME!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I had never made or had Lentil soup before. I was very pleased with this. Didn't give it 5 stars because I'm not sure what it was supposed to taste like - but overall it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Mmm, mmm, good! I made it on the stovetop. Sauteed 2 garlic cloves (instead of the powder called for later), 1/2 a green pepper, 1/2 a red onion and the carrots (didn't use celery). Then added cubed chicken instead of ham. When the chicken was nearly cooked, I added the rest of the ingredients until the lentils were cooked. Very tasty! And the smell is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I've been making this lentil soup for a few years, and it's been perfect every time. I drop in a ham hock instead of cubed ham. Halfway through the cooking, I take the ham hock out, hack at it a bit to get some chunks of ham off, then put it all back in. I also don't have a slow cooker, so I just cook it slowly on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I didn't have ham, but that didn't seem to affect the end result as this was a very good soup. Smelled very good while it was simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is a real keeper. I left out the caraway seed (I don't care for them) and used low sodium chicken stock. The whole family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Wonderful flavor and easy to prepare. Great for a cold Saturday at home! Goes well with a spinach salad and whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this soup and then left the house for 4 hours. Luckily, I wasn't gone longer since the lentils had absorbed all of the liquid in the recipe by that time! ( There is nothing wrong with my crock pot and I did have it on the low setting. I ended up adding 4 additional cups of broth and the finished product was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Very good! Omitted the ham and used about twice the chicken broth called for, but those were the only changes. I've never cooked with caraway seed before, and never would have paired it with nutmeg. But we both loved the taste and will be fixing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States