German Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
REALLY good soup. A little off the beaten lentil path with some of the flavors, but even my kids ate this. Great flavor and easy to make. I left out the ham, simply because we rarely eat pork and didn't have any. I did use a very small amount of bacon instead (2 strips worth). Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe! WILL definitely make this again. Served along side the Homesteader Cornbread recipe on this site with a green salad and it was a grrreat meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a great recipe. I have never made lentil soup before, so having a German heritage, this recipe caught my eye. Have way through making it, I had to add 1 cup more of chicken broth. I like thick soups, so this worked out well for me. I was concerned that the vegetable swould not be cooked, but I followed the recipe and it terned out wonderful. While cooking the soup, the aroma through the house was like any ones Grandma's house. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is a really good soup. The second time I made this, I omitted the caraway seed and used lite smoked sausage. Both times, I found that I had to use a good bit more liquid than called for. Overall, a very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe, if you follow others' advice and add the extra broth. We have made this twice, once in the crock pot and once on the stove when we were short on time. We added cubed, cooked ham and a couple extra cans of chicken broth and it came out perfectly both times with excellent flavor. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Loved this with a few changes!! Sauted the veggies with 1 slice of ham for flavor & used leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Cooked on stovetop. Wasn't sure how thic it would be after continually adding water so added little mashed potato & carot mixture to thicken. Yummy! We put some yougurt in our bowl with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yes, without a doubt you will have to add more liquid. Aside from that, I am also thinking that next time I will leave out the caraway seeds (if you're not a big fan, you just are not a big fan) and maybe add a bit more Worcestershire. I also like my lentils a bit saltier, so I salted my own bowl, but again, that's a personal preference, and I would rather under-salt so each person can add if they like. I'll keep this one and mark the caraway seeds as "optional".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I'm rating this a four due to the wonderful flavor, however, I'm giving it a three for the amount of liquid stated. I agree with others that three cups of broth is certainly not enough. I've been making lentil soup for many years and I know how quickly the lentils absorb the liquid. I made my own stock with a leftover carcass and had to keep added canned broth. I'm German, so the recipe title is what attracted me to view it and I really loved the caraway seed addition as it gave the soup a really nice flavor. In lieu of the parsley, I used kale and added more seasonings than stated. Very good recipe but please keep an eye on it. Thanks Claire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
The recipe can easily be a 5 star recipe by simply adding a couple more cans of chicken broth. The recipe doesnt call for enough stock as written. I cooked it on the stove and it took about an hour or so. I used 4 cans of broth which created a very thick soup- it could have easily taken another can. The flavor is great however, and i do recommend it. One other thing, i might also use low sodium broth as it is a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Followed recipe but this ended up completely dried out and burned on the edges. I added a cup of extra broth even! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
We really liked this, plus it makes a huge batch so there's enough soup to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States